On January 14, 1976.

On January 14, 1976, “Kudu Records” label released “House of the Rising Sun”, the fourth Idris Muhammad album. it was recorded May – October 1975, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, and was produced by Creed Taylor.


  1. Idris Muhammad – drums
  2. Will Lee, Wilbur Bascomb – bass
  3. Eric Gale – guitar  
  4. Joe Beck – guitar
  5. Leon Pendarvis – piano   
  6. Don Grolnick – piano 
  7. Roland Hanna – piano
  8. David Sanborn – alto saxophone
  9. George Young – tenor saxophone
  10. Bob Berg – tenor saxophone
  11. Ronnie Cuber – baritone saxophone
  12. George Devens – percussion
  13. Tom Harrell- trumpet
  14. Barry Rogers – trombone
  15. Unknown members of the ensemble
  16. Unknown vocalists

Track listing:

All compositions arranged, adapted and conducted by David Matthews, except for “Sudan”, arranged by Tom Harrell.

  1. House of the Rising Sun – traditional
  2. Baia (Boogie Bump) – Ary Barroso, Ray Gilbert
  3. Hard to Face the Music – Ashford & Simpson
  4. Theme for New York City (based on prelude No. 41) – Frédéric Chopin
  5. Sudan – Idris Muhammad, Tom Harrell
  6. Hey Pock A-Way – Aaron Neville, Greg Porter, Joseph Modelliste, Leo Nocentelli

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.