Tag Archives: Africa

Weezer: Same

On January 24, 2019, “Crush Music” and “Atlantic” labels released the self-titled, twelfth Weezer studio album (known as Teal Album). It was recorded in 2018, and was produced by Mark Rankin, Rivers Cuomo, Patrick Wilson, Brian Bell and Scott Shriner.


  • Rivers Cuomo – lead and backing vocals, lead guitar, piano, keyboards
  • Brian Bell – lead and backing vocals, rhythm guitar, keyboards
  • Scott Shriner – bass, backing vocals
  • Patrick Wilson – drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Mark Rankin – engineer, mixing
  • Jason Clark – engineer
  • Suzy Shinn – vocal engineer
  • Eric Boulanger – mastering

Track listing:

  1. Africa – David Paich, Jeff Porcaro
  2. Everybody Wants to Rule the World – Roland Orzabal, Ian Stanley, Chris Hughes
  3. Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This) – Annie Lennox, David A. Stewart
  4. Take on Me – Magne Furuholmen, Morten Harket, Pål Waaktaar
  5. Happy Together – Alan Gordon, Garry Bonner
  6. Paranoid – Geezer Butler, Tony Iommi, Ozzy Osborne, Bill Ward
  7. Mr. Blue Sky – Jeff Lynne
  8. Np Scrubs – Kevin Briggs, Kandi Burruss, Tameka Cottle, Lisa Lopes
  9. Billie Jean – Michael Jackson
  10. Stand by Me – Ben E. King, Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller

Shelly Manne: Daktari

In December 1967, “Atlantic” label released “Daktari”, the 34th Shelly Manne album. It features music from the TV show “Daktari”, and was recorded November – December 1967, at “Annex Recording Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Nesuhi Ertegun.


  • Shelly Manne – drums, percussion
  • Justin Gordon, Bud Shank, Arthur C. Smith, Frank Strozier – woodwinds
  • Mike Wofford – piano
  • Bob Bain – guitar
  • Bill Pitman – bass
  • Larry Bunker, Frank Carlsson, Victor Feldman, Emil Richards – percussion
  • Richard Hazard – arranger

Track listing:

All tracks by Shelly Manne.

  1. Daktari
  2. Out on a Limb
  3. Clarence
  4. Africa
  5. Stay with Me
  6. Elephantime
  7. Wameru
  8. Toto
  9. Galloping Giraffes
  10. Judy Judy
  11. Ivan
  12. Rhino Trot

In July 1974.

In July 1974, “Reprise” label released “Rejuvenation”, the fifth Meters studio album.It was recorded in 1974, at “Sea-Saint Studios”, and was produced by Allen Toussaint, Ziggy Modeliste, Art Neville, Leo Nocentelli, George Porter, Jr. and Lowell George.


  • Leo Nocentelli– guitar, backing vocals
  • Lowell George– slide guitar
  • Art Neville– vocals, keyboards
  • George Porter, Jr. – bass, backing vocals
  • Ziggy Modeliste– vocals, drums
  • Ken Laxton – engineer
  • Bob Irwin – mastering
  • Al Quaglieri – mastering
  • Rich Russell – design
  • Bunny Matthews– liner notes
  • Tim Livingston – project manager

Track listing:

All tracks by Ziggy Modeliste, Art Neville, Leo Nocentelli and George Porter, Jr.

  1. People Say
  2. Love Is for Me
  3. Just Kissed My Baby
  4. What’cha Say
  5. Jungle Man
  6. Hey Pocky A-Way
  7. It Ain’t No Use
  8. Loving You Is on My Mind
  9. Africa

Ali Farka Touré

On March 7, 2006, Ali Ibrahim “Farka” Touré died aged 66. He was multi-instrumentalist, singer and songwriter, one of Africa’s internationally most renowned musicians. Magazine “Rolling Stone” ranked Touré at number 76 on its list of “The 100 Greatest Guitarists of All Time”,and magazine “Spin” ranked him at number 37 on its list of “100 Greatest Guitarists of All Time”.