Shelly Manne: Daktari

In December 1967, “Atlantic” label released “Daktari”, the 34th Shelly Manne album. It features music from the TV show “Daktari”, and was recorded November – December 1967, at “Annex Recording Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Nesuhi Ertegun.


  • Shelly Manne – drums, percussion
  • Justin Gordon, Bud Shank, Arthur C. Smith, Frank Strozier – woodwinds
  • Mike Wofford – piano
  • Bob Bain – guitar
  • Bill Pitman – bass
  • Larry Bunker, Frank Carlsson, Victor Feldman, Emil Richards – percussion
  • Richard Hazard – arranger

Track listing:

All tracks by Shelly Manne.

  1. Daktari
  2. Out on a Limb
  3. Clarence
  4. Africa
  5. Stay with Me
  6. Elephantime
  7. Wameru
  8. Toto
  9. Galloping Giraffes
  10. Judy Judy
  11. Ivan
  12. Rhino Trot

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.