On September 12, 1975.

Wish You Were Here

On September 12, 1975, “Harvest” label released “Wish You Were Here”, the ninth Pink Floyd studio album. It was recorded January–July 1975, at the “Abbey Road Studios” in London and was produced by David Gilmour, Roger Waters and Nick Mason. The album features composition “Shine on you crazy diamond”, a tribute to Syd Barrett, who left the band seven years earlier due to a mental illness. In 2012, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 211 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”. The album was certified 7 x Platinum in Australia by “ARIA”; 2 x Platinum in Austria by “IFPI Austria”; 3 x Platinum in Canada by “Music Canada”; Diamond in France by “SNEP”; Platinum in Germany by “BVMI”; 2 x Platinum in UK by “BPI”, and 6 x Platinum in the US by the “RIIA”.


  • David Gilmour– vocals, guitars, lap steel guitar, EMS Synth AKS, keyboards, tape effects
  • Richard Wright– keyboards, VCS3, clavinet, backing vocals
  • Roger Waters– vocals, bass guitar, guitar, VCS3, tape effects
  • Nick Mason– drums, percussion, tape effects
  • Dick Parry– saxophone
  • Roy Harper– vocals
  • Venetta Fieldsand Carlena Williams – backing vocals

Track listing

All lyrics by Roger Waters, music as noted.

  1. Shine on You Crazy Diamond (parts I – V) – David Gilmour, Richard Wright, Roger Waters
  2. Welcome to the Machine – Roger Waters
  3. Have a Cigar – Roger Waters
  4. Wish You Were Here – Roger Waters, David Gilmour
  5. Shine on You Crazy Diamond (parts VI – IX) – David Gilmour, Richard Wright, Roger Waters

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.