In May 1973.

In May 1973, “Warner Bros” label released the third, self-titled Tower of Power album. It was recorded in 1973, and was produced by Greg Adams, Brent Byars, Emilio Castillo, Bruce Conte, David Garibaldi, Mic Gillette, Stephen” Doc” Kupka, Lenny Pickett, Francis ”Rocco” Prestia, Jay Spell, Bruce Steinberg, Chester Thompson and Lenny Williams.


  • Greg Adams– trumpet, flugelhorn, backing vocals, string arrangements and conductor
  • Brent Byars – bongos, conga
  • Emilio Castillo– tenor saxophone, backing vocals, production supervisor
  • Bruce Conte– guitar, backing vocals
  • David Garibaldi– drums
  • Mic Gillette– trombone, trumpet, flugelhorn, baritone, backing vocals
  • Stephen “Doc” Kupka– oboe, baritone saxophone, backing vocals
  • Lenny Pickett– clarinet, flute, tenor saxophone, backing vocals
  • Francis “Rocco” Prestia– bass guitar
  • Jay Spell – acoustic piano
  • Bruce Steinberg – harmonica, art direction, design, photography, illustrations, cover design
  • Chester Thompson – organ, keyboards, backing vocals
  • Lenny Williams– lead vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Emilio Castillo and Stephen “Doc” Kupka except when noted.

  1. What Is Hip? – Emilio Castillo, Stephen “Doc” Kupka, David Garibaldi
  2. Clever Girl – Emilio Castillo, Stephen “Doc” Kupka, Willie Fulton
  3. This Time It’s Real – David Bartlett, Emilio Castillo, Stephen “Doc” Kupka
  4. Will I Ever Find a Love?
  5. Get Yo’ Feet Back on the Ground – Willie Fulton
  6. So Very Hard to Go
  7. Soul Vaccination
  8. Both Sorry Over Nothin’ – Emilio Castillo, Stephen “Doc” Kupka, Lenny Williams
  9. Clean Slate – Emilio Castillo, Stephen “Doc” Kupka, Willie Fulton
  10. Just Another Day – Bruce Conte

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.