In May 1973.

In May 1973, “Blue Thumb” label released the debut, self-titled Pointer Sisters album. It was recorded in 1973, at “Wally Heider Studios” in San Francisco, and was produced by David Rubinson & Friends, Inc.


  • Anita Pointer, Ruth Pointer, Bonnie Pointer, June Pointer– vocals
  • Gaylord Birch– drums
  • Tom Salisbury– piano
  • Ron McClure– acoustic bass, electric bass
  • Willie Fulton– electric guitar
  • Ed Marshall– drums Rod Ellicott – bass
  • Norman Landsberg– piano
  • The Hoodoo Rhythm Devils– backing band
  • David Rubinson& Friends, Inc. mix-down engineer
  • Norman Landsberg – associate producer
  • Fred Catero, Jeremy Zatkin– recording engineers, mix-down engineers
  • George Horne– mastering engineer
  • B. Greene– portraiture, design

Track listing:

  1. Yes We Can Can – Allen Toussaint
  2. Cloudburst – Leroy Kirkland, Jimmy Harris
  3. Jada – Pointer Sisters, Bruce Good, Jeff Cohen
  4. River Boulevard – Barbara Mauritz
  5. Old Songs – John Shine, Bruce Good
  6. That’s How I Feel – Wilton Felder
  7. Sugar – Pointer Sisters
  8. Pains and Tears – Norman Landsberg
  9. Naked Foot – Neal Tate
  10. Wang Dang Doodle – Willie Dixon

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s