Tag Archives: Larry Gatlin

In November 1972.

In November 1972, “Monument Records” label released “Jesus Was a Capricorn”, the fourth Kris Kristofferson album. It was recorded in 1972, at “Quadraphonic Sound Studios” and “Monument Recording Studios” in Nashville, Tennessee, and was produced by Fred Foster.


  • Kris Kristofferson – vocals, guitar
  • Rita Coolidge – backing vocals
  • Chip Young, Dennis Linde, Fred Carter Jr., Grady Martin, Jerry Shook, Jimmy Colvard, John Buck Wilkin, Johnny Christopher, Mac Gayden, Stephen Bruton – guitar
  • “Uncle Josh” Graves – slide dobro
  • Weldon Myrick – steel guitar
  • Bobby Emmons, Bobby Wood, David Briggs, John Harris, Mike Utley – piano, electric piano, organ
  • Brenton Banks, Byron Bach, Carl Gorodetzky, David Darling, George Binkley, Lillian Hunt, Sheldon Kurland, Steven Smith – strings
  • Bill Justis – string arrangements
  • Norbert Putnam, Tommy Cogbill – bass guitar
  • Andrew Newmark, Kenny Buttrey – drums
  • Alan Rush, Benny Whitehead, Billy Swan, Larry Gatlin, Randy Cullers, The Bergenaires, The Joint Venture, The Jordanaires – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Kris Kristofferson except where noted.

  1. Jesus Was a Capricorn (Owed to John Prine)
  2. Nobody Wins
  3. It Sure Was (Love)
  4. Enough for You
  5. Help Me – Larry Gatlin
  6. Jesse Younger
  7. Give It Time to Be Tender – Kris Kristofferson, Donnie Fritts
  8. Out of Mind, Out of Sight – Kris Kristofferson, Stephen Bruton
  9. Sugar Man
  10. Why Me

In January 1973.

In January 1973, “Columbia” label released “Any Old Wind That Blows”, the 44th Johnny Cash album. It was recorded in 1972, and was produced by Larry Butler.


  • Johnny Cash – vocals, guitar
  • Bob Wootton, Carl Perkins- electric guitar
  • Red Lane, Larry Gatlin, Norman Blake, Ray Edenton – guitar
  • Bobby Thompson- guitar, banjo
  • Chuck Cochrane, George Richey – piano
  • Larry Butler- keyboards
  • Charlie McCoy- harmonica
  • Marshall Grant- bass guitar
  • WS Holland- drums
  • Kenny Malone- percussion
  • The Carter Family, The Statler Brothers- backing vocals
  • Chuck Cochran, Don Tweedy – arrangements
  • Charlie Bragg, Roger Tucker, Selby Coffeen, Freeman Ramsey, Jerry Watson – engineer
  • Bill Barnes – cover design
  • Al Clayton – photography

Track listing:

  1. Any Old Wind That Blows – Dick Feller
  2. Kentucky Straight – Johnny Cash
  3. The Loving Gift – Kris Kristofferson
  4. The Good Earth – Larry Gatlin
  5. Best Friend – Bill Dees, Toy Orbison
  6. Oney – Jerry Chesnut
  7. Ballad of Annie Palmer – Johnny Cash
  8. Too Little Too Late – Johnny Cash
  9. If I Had a Hammer – Lee Hays, Pete Seeger
  10. Country Trash – Johnny Cash
  11. Welcome Back Jesus – Johnny Cash

On January 8, 1975.


On January 8, 1975, “RCA” label released “Promised Land”, the twenty first Elvis Presley album. It was recorded in December 1973, at “Stax Records” studios in Memphis and  was produced by Felton Jarvis.


  • Elvis Presley- vocals, guitar
  • David Briggs- piano, organ
  • James Burton- guitar
  • Johnny Christopher – guitar
  • Doug Bartenfeld – guitar
  • Per Erik Hallin – piano, organ
  • Per Eric “Pete” Hallin – clavinet
  • Norbert Putnam- bass
  • Ronnie Tutt- drums
  • Voice (Donnie Sumner; Sherrill Nielsen; Tim Baty; Per Eric “Pete” Hallin) – backing vocals
  • Jeannie Green – backing vocals
  • Mary and Ginger Holladay – backing vocals
  • Susan Pilkington – backing vocals
  • JD Sumner& The Stamps (Bill Baize; Ed Enoch; David Rowland) – backing vocals
  • Kathy Westmoreland- backing vocals
  • Mike Moran, Dick Baxter – engineer

Track listing:

  1. Promised Land – Chuck Berry
  2. There’s a Honky Tonk Angel (Who’ll Take Me Back In) – Troy Seals, Denny Rice
  3. Help me – Larry Gatlin
  4. Songman – Donnie Sumner
  5. Love Song of the Year – Chris Christian
  6. It’s Midnight – Billy Edd Wheeler,Jerry Chesnut
  7. Your Love’s Been a Long Time Coming – Rory Bourke
  8. If You Talk in Your Sleep – Red West, Johnny Christopher
  9. Thinking About You – Tim Baty
  10. You Asked Me To – Waylon Jennings, Billy Joe Shaver