Tag Archives: Mac Gayden

In November 1972.

In November 1972, “Monument Records” label released “Jesus Was a Capricorn”, the fourth Kris Kristofferson album. It was recorded in 1972, at “Quadraphonic Sound Studios” and “Monument Recording Studios” in Nashville, Tennessee, and was produced by Fred Foster.


  • Kris Kristofferson – vocals, guitar
  • Rita Coolidge – backing vocals
  • Chip Young, Dennis Linde, Fred Carter Jr., Grady Martin, Jerry Shook, Jimmy Colvard, John Buck Wilkin, Johnny Christopher, Mac Gayden, Stephen Bruton – guitar
  • “Uncle Josh” Graves – slide dobro
  • Weldon Myrick – steel guitar
  • Bobby Emmons, Bobby Wood, David Briggs, John Harris, Mike Utley – piano, electric piano, organ
  • Brenton Banks, Byron Bach, Carl Gorodetzky, David Darling, George Binkley, Lillian Hunt, Sheldon Kurland, Steven Smith – strings
  • Bill Justis – string arrangements
  • Norbert Putnam, Tommy Cogbill – bass guitar
  • Andrew Newmark, Kenny Buttrey – drums
  • Alan Rush, Benny Whitehead, Billy Swan, Larry Gatlin, Randy Cullers, The Bergenaires, The Joint Venture, The Jordanaires – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Kris Kristofferson except where noted.

  1. Jesus Was a Capricorn (Owed to John Prine)
  2. Nobody Wins
  3. It Sure Was (Love)
  4. Enough for You
  5. Help Me – Larry Gatlin
  6. Jesse Younger
  7. Give It Time to Be Tender – Kris Kristofferson, Donnie Fritts
  8. Out of Mind, Out of Sight – Kris Kristofferson, Stephen Bruton
  9. Sugar Man
  10. Why Me

In April 1971.

In April 1971, “Reprise” label released “City of Gold”, the fifth Pearls Before Swine album. It was recorded in 1970 in New York and Nashville, and was produced by Tom Rapp.


  • Tom Rapp: vocals, guitar
  • Elisabeth Rapp: vocals
  • David Noyes: vocals
  • Charlie McCoy: dobro, guitar, bass, harmonica
  • Norbert Putnam: bass
  • Kenneth Buttrey: drums
  • Buddy Spicher: violin, cello, viola
  • Mac Gayden: guitars
  • David Briggs: piano, harpsichord
  • John Duke: oboe, flute
  • Hutch Davie: keyboard
  • Bill Pippin: oboe, flute
  • Ed Thrasher – art direction

Track listing:

  1. Sonnet #65 – Shakespeare, Tom Rapp
  2. Once Upon A Time – Tom Rapp
  3. Raindrops – Tom Rapp
  4. City Of Gold – Tom Rapp
  5. Nancy – Cohen
  6. Seasons In The Sun – Jacque Brel, McKuen
  7. My Father – Collins
  8. The Man – Tom Rapp
  9. Casablanca – Tom Rapp
  10. Wedding – Tom Rapp
  11. Did You Dream Of – Tom Rapp