Chuck Berry: After School Session

In May 1957, “Chess” label released “After School Session”, the debut Chuck Berry album. It was recorded May 1955 – January 1957, in Chicago, Illinois, and was produced by Leonard Chess and Philip Chess.


  • Chuck Berry – vocals, guitar, steel guitar
  • Johnnie Johnson – piano
  • Otis Spann – piano
  • Jimmy Rogers – guitar
  • L. C. Davis – tenor saxophone
  • Jerome Green – maracas
  • Willie Dixon – bass
  • Fred Below – drums
  • Jasper Thomas – drums
  • Ebby Hardy – drums
  • Vartan – art direction
  • Don Snowden – liner notes

Track listing:

All tracks by Chuck Berry.

  1. School Days
  2. Deep Feeling
  3. Too Much Monkey Business
  4. Wee Wee Hours
  5. Roly Poly
  6. No Money Down
  7. Brown Eyed Handsome Man
  8. Berry Pickin’
  9. Together (We Will Always Be)
  10. Havana Moon
  11. Downbound Train
  12. Drifting Heart

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.