On September 23, 1969.


On September 23, 1969, “Enterprise” label released “Hot Buttered Soul”, the second Isaac Hayes studio album. It was recorded in June–July 1969 at the “Ardent Studios” in Memphis, Tennessee, and at the “Tera Shirma Studios”, in Detroit, Michigan, and was produced by Al Bell, Marvell Thomas and Allen Jones.


  • Isaac Hayes– vocals, keyboards
  • The Bar Kays
  • Michael Toles – guitar
  • Marvell Thomas– keyboards
  • James Alexander – bass
  • Willie Hall  – drums

Track listing:

  1. Walk On By – Burt Bacharach, Hal David
  2. Hyperbolicsyllabicsesquedalymistic – Isaac Hayes, Alvertis Isbell
  3. One Woman – Charles Chalmers, Sandra Rhodes
  4. By the Time I Get to Phoenix – Jimmy Webb

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.