Tag Archives: Efrain Toro

Los Lobos: Colossal Head

On March 19, 1996, “Warner Bros” label released “Colossal Head”, the eighth Los Lobos studio album. It was recorded in 1995, at “Sunset Sound Factory” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Tchad Blake, Mitchell Froom, David Hidalgo, Louie Pérez, Cesar Rosas, Conrad Lozano and Steve Berlin.


  • David Hidalgo – vocals, guitar, accordion, fiddle, requinto jarocho
  • Louie Pérez – vocals, guitar, drums, jarana
  • Cesar Rosas – vocals, guitar, bajo sexto
  • Conrad Lozano – vocals, bass, guitarron
  • Steve Berlin – keyboards, horns
  • Yuka Honda – keyboards, samples
  • Victor Bisetti – drums, percussion
  • Pete Thomas – drums
  • Efrain Toro – percussion
  • Tchad Blake – engineer
  • John Paterno – engineer
  • Tom Recchion – art direction, design
  • Jim Douglas – photography

Track listing:

  1. Revolution – David Hidalgo, Louie Pérez
  2. Mas y Mas – David Hidalgo, Louie Pérez
  3. Maricela – Cesar Rosas
  4. Everybody Loves a Train – David Hidalgo, Louie Pérez
  5. Can’t Stop the Rain – Cesar Rosas
  6. Life Is Good – David Hidalgo, Louie Pérez
  7. Little Japan – Cesar Rosas, Louie Pérez
  8. Manny’s Bones – David Hidalgo, Louie Pérez
  9. Colossal Head – David Hidalgo, Louie Pérez
  10. This Bird’s Gonna Fly – Cesar Rosas
  11. Buddy Ebsen Loves the Night Time – David Hidalgo

Willy DeVille

On August 6, 2009, William Paul Borsey Jr. aka Willy DeVille died aged 58. He was a singer and songwriter, founder of Mink DeVille, the house band at the New York club “CBGB”. With Mink DeVille, he released six albums and ten by his own name. DeVille collaborated with musicians from various music genres such as Jack Nitzsche, Doc Pomus, Dr. John, Mark Knopfler, Allen Toussaint, Eddie Bo, David Hidalgo, Efrain Toro, Mariachi Los Camperos, Jimmy Zavala, Zachary Richard, Jeff Baxter, Freebo, Jim Gilstrap, and Brian Ray.

On September 14, 1993.


On September 14, 1993, “Geffen” label released “Traffic from Paradise”, the seventh Rickie Lee Jones album. It was recorded in 1993, at “Conway Recording Studios”; “Oceanway Studios” and “Signet Sound Studios”, and was produced by Rickie Lee Jones.


  • Rickie Lee Jones– lead and backing vocals, acoustic guitar, mandolin, keyboards, bowed dulcimer
  • Sal Bernardi – acoustic guitar, backing vocals
  • Leo Kottke– six-string, twelve-string, slide and acoustic guitar, backing vocals
  • David Hidalgo– eight-string electric guitar
  • Brian Setzer– electric guitar, backing vocals
  • Dean Parks– electric guitar
  • David Baerwald– electric guitar, backing vocals
  • John Leftwich – bass, cello, backing vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Jim Keltner– drums
  • Alex Acuña– drums, congas
  • Brad Dutz – percussion, marimba, tarkas, bodhran, udu, mixing
  • Efrain Toro – percussion
  • Doug Lyons – French horn
  • Bobby Bruce – violin
  • Syd Straw– backing vocals
  • Teresa Tudbury – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Rickie Lee Jones, except where noted.

  1. Pink Flamingos
  2. Altar Boy
  3. Stewart’s Coat
  4. Beat Angels – Sal Bernardi
  5. Tigers
  6. Rebel Rebel – David Bowie
  7. Jolie Jolie
  8. Running from Mercy – Rickie Lee Jones, Leo Kottke
  9. A Stranger’s Car
  10. The Albatross – Rickie Jones, Leo Kottke, John Leftwich