On September 19, 1969.


On September 19, 1969, “Reprise” label released “Then Play On”, the third Fleetwood Mac studio album. It was recorded 1968 – 1969, at “CBS Studios”; and “De Lane Lea Studios” in London, and was produced by Peter Green, Danny Kirwan, John McVie and Mick Fleetwood. The album title is from the opening line of William Shakespeare’s play “Twelfth Night” – “If Music Be the Food of Love, Play On”. The painting used for the cover of the album is “Domesticated Mural Painting”, by the English artist Maxwell Armfield.


  • Peter Green– vocals, guitar, harmonica, six string bass, percussion, violincello
  • Danny Kirwan– vocals, guitar
  • John McVie– bass guitar
  • Mick Fleetwood– drums, percussion
  • Jeremy Spencer– piano
  • Christine Perfect– piano
  • Sandra Elsdon – recording
  • Martin Birch – engineer
  • Dinky Dawson – sound conultant

Track listing:

  1. Coming Your Way – Danny Kirwan
  2. Closing Me Eyes – Peter Green
  3. Fighting for Madge – Mick Fleetwood
  4. When You Say – Danny Kirwan’
  5. Showbiz Blues – Peter Green
  6. Underway – Peter Green
  7. One Sunny Day – Danny Kirwan
  8. Although the Sun Is Shining – Danny Kirwan
  9. Rattlesnake Shake – Peter Green
  10. Without You – Danny Kirwan
  11. Searching for Madge – John McVie
  12. My Dream – Danny Kirwan
  13. Like Crying – Danny Kirwan
  14. Before the Beginning



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.