On September 15, 2017.

On September 15, 2017, “Okeh” label released “Memphis… Yes, I’m Ready”, the 19th Dee Dee Bridgewater album. It was recorded in September 2016, at “Royal Studios” in  Memphis, TN, and was produced by Dee Dee Bridgewater, Tulani Bridgewater Kowalski, Kirk Whalum and Lawrence “Boo” Mitchell.


  • Dee Dee Bridgewater – vocals, linear notes
  • Kirk Whalum– tenor and baritone saxophone
  • Lannie McMillan, Kirk Smothers – tenor saxophone
  • Marc Franklin – trumpet
  • Kameron Whalum – trombone
  • John Stoddart– keyboards, vocal arrangements
  • Charles Hodges– Hammond organ
  • Garry Goin – guitar
  • Jackie Clark – bass
  • James Sexton – drums
  • Lawrence “Boo” Mitchell– cymbals, electric bongos, tambourine
  • Sharisse Norman, Candise Rayborn-Marshall, Kevin Whalum – background vocals
  • Stax Music Academy– background vocals
  • John Stoddart – associate producer
  • Ted Jensen– engineer
  • Tulani Bridgewater Kowalski – art direction, cover art, photography
  • Thomas Brodin – design

Track listing:

  1. Yes, I’m Ready – Barbara Mason
  2. Giving Up – Van McCoy
  3. I Can’t Get Next to You – Barrett Strong, Norman Whitfield
  4. Going Down Slow – Louis Jimmy Oden
  5. Why (Am I Treated So Bad) – Roebuck Staples
  6. B-A-B-Y – Isaac Hayes, David Porter
  7. The Thrill Is Gone – Rick Ravon Darnell, Roy Hawkins
  8. The Sweeter He Is – Isaac Hayes, David Porter
  9. I Can’t Stand the Rain – Donald Maurice Bryant, Bernard Miller, Ann Peebles
  10. Don’t Be Cruel – Otis Blackwell, Elvis Presley
  11. Hound Dog – Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller
  12. Try a Little Tenderness – James Campbell, Reginald Connelly, Harry Woods
  13. Take My Hand, Precious Lord – Thomas A. Dorsey, Sobie Frank Frazier, Jeff Majors

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.