On July 16, 1984.


On July 16, 1984, “Epic” label released “Diamond Life”, the debut Sade studio album. It was recorded 1983–1984, at “The Power Plant” in London, and was produced by Robin Millar. “Diamond Life” won the 1985 “Brit Award” for the “Best British Album”. The album was certified 4 x Platinum in Australia by “ARIA”; 2 x Platinum in Canada by “Music Canada”; 2 x Platinum in France by “SNEP”; Platinum in Germany by “BVMI”; Platinum in Netherlands by “NVPI”; 4 x Platinum in UK by “BPI” and 4 x Platinum in the US by “RIIA”.


  • Sade Adu– vocals
  • Stuart Matthewman– guitar, saxophone
  • Andrew Hale – keyboards
  • Paul Denman– bass
  • Paul Anthony Cook – drums
  • Dave Early– drums, percussion
  • Martin Ditcham– percussion
  • Gordon Matthewman – trumpet
  • Terry Bailey – trumpet
  • Ben Rogan – engineer
  • Pete Brown – engineer assistant
  • Simon Driscoll – engineer assistant
  • Graham Smith – design
  • Chris Roberts – photography
  • Mike Pela– production engineer

Track listing:

  1. Smooth Operator – Sade Adu, Ray St. John
  2. Your Love Is King – Sade Adu, Stuart Matthewman
  3. Hang On To Your Love – Sade Adu, Stuart Matthewman
  4. Frankie’s First Affair – Sade Adu, Stuart Matthewman
  5. When Am I Going to Make a Living – Sade Adu, Stuart Matthewman
  6. Cherry Pie – Sade Adu, Stuart Matthewman, Andrew Hale, Paul Denman
  7. Sally – Sade Adu, Stuart Matthewman
  8. I Will Be Your Friend – Sade Adu, Stuart Matthewman
  9. Why Can’t We Live Together – Timmy Thomas

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.