On July 16, 1974.


On July 16, 1974, “Reprise” label released “On the Beach”, the fifth Neil Young studio album. It was recorded February – April 1974, at “Arrow Ranch” in Woodside, California, and “Sunset Sound Recorders” in Hollywood, and was produced by Neil Young, David Briggs, Mark Harman and Al Schmitt. “On the Beach” was ranked at number 40 in Bob Mersereau’s book “The Top 100 Canadian Albums”.


  • Neil Young— vocals, guitar, harmonica, Wurlitzer electric piano, banjo,  electric tambourine
  • Ben Keith— vocal, bass, slide guitar, steel guitar,  Wurlitzer electric piano, dobro, organ, hair drum, hand drums
  • Rusty Kershaw — slide guitar, fiddle
  • David Crosby— rhythm guitar
  • George Whitsell — guitar
  • Graham Nash— Wurlitzer electric piano
  • Tim Drummond— bass, percussion
  • Billy Talbot— bass
  • Rick Danko— bass
  • Ralph Molina— drums, vocal, hand drums
  • Levon Helm— drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Neil Young.

  1. Walk On
  2. See the Sky About to Rain
  3. Revolution Blues
  4. For the Turnstiles
  5. Vampire Blues
  6. On the Beach
  7. Motion Pictures
  8. Ambulance Blues


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.