Tag Archives: Triffids

In November 1983.

In November 1983, “Hot Records” and “Rough Trade” labels released “Treeless Plain”, the debut Triffids album. It was recorded August – September 1983, at “Emerald City Studios” in Sydney, and was produced by Alsy MacDonald, David McComb, Robert McComb, Martyn Casey and Jill Birt.


  • Alsy MacDonald- drums, vocals, percussion, hammer
  • David McComb- lead vocals, guitar, piano
  • Robert McComb- violin, guitar, saw, keyboards, vocals
  • Martyn Casey- bass, vocals
  • Jill Birt– organ
  • Ian Macourt – cello
  • David Angell – viola
  • Nick Mainsbridge – engineer

Track listing:

All songs by David McComb, except where noted.

  1. Red Pony
  2. Branded
  3. My Baby Thinks She’s a Train
  4. Rosevel
  5. I Am a Lonesome Hobo – Bob Dylan
  6. Place in the Sun
  7. Plaything
  8. Old Ghostrider
  9. Hanging Shed
  10. Hell of a Summer
  11. Madeline
  12. Nothing Can Take Your Place

In August 1986.

In August 1986, “Mushroom” label released “In the Pines”, the third Triffids studio album. It was recorded in April 1986, in a woolshed on a remote Western Australian farming property, owned by the David McCombs’ parents, and was produced by Bruce Callaway and David McComb.


  • David McComb- vocals, guitar, mandolin
  • ‘Evil’ Graham Lee- acoustic guitar, pedal and lap steel guitar, backing vocals
  • Martyn Casey- bass guitar
  • Jill Birt- vocals, keyboards
  • Robert McComb- violin, guitar, drums, harmonica, mandolin, backing vocals
  • Alsy MacDonald- drums, backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by David McComb, except where noted.

  1. Suntrapper
  2. In the Pines
  3. Kathy Knows
  4. 25 To 5
  5. Do You Want Me Near You? – Allan MacDonald
  6. Once a Day – Bill Anderson
  7. Just Might Fade Away
  8. Better Off This Way
  9. Only One Life
  10. Keep Your Eyes on the Hole
  11. One Soul Less on Your Fiery List
  12. Born Sandy Devotional
  13. Love and Affection

In April 1989.

In April 1989, “Island” label released “The Black Swan”, the fifth and final Triffids studio album. It was recorded in 1090, and was produced by Stephen Street, David McComb, Alsy MacDonald, Robert McComb, Martyn Casey, ‘Evil’ Graham Lee and Jill Birt.


  • David McComb
  • Alsy MacDonald
  • Robert McComb
  • Martyn Casey
  • ‘Evil’ Graham Lee
  • Jill Birt
  • Adam Peters
  • Philip Kakulas
  • Rita Menendez

Track listing:

All tracks by Dave McComb except where noted.

  1. Too Hot to Move
  2. American Sailors
  3. Falling Over You – David McComb, Adam Peters
  4. Goodbye Little Boy – David McComb, Adam Peters
  5. Bottle of Love – David McComb, Phil Kakulas, James Patterson
  6. The Spinning Top Song – David McComb, Adam Peters
  7. Butterflies Into Worms – David McComb, Phil Kakulas
  8. New Year’s Greetings
  9. Good Fortune Rose – Jill Birt, Alsy MacDonald
  10. One Mechanic Town
  11. Blackeyed Susan – David McComb, Phil Kakulas
  12. The Clown Prince – David McComb, Phil Kakulas
  13. Fairytale Love