Tag Archives: Tonight’s the Night

On August 13, 1956.

On August 13, 1956, “Decca” label released “Rock ‘n Roll Stage Show”, the fourth Bill Haley and His Comets album. It was recorded in March 1956, in New York City, and was produced by Milt Gabler.


  • Bill Haley– vocal, rhythm guitar
  • Franny Beecher– vocal, lead guitar
  • Billy Williamson– vocal, steel guitar
  • Johnny Grande– piano, accordion
  • Al Rex– vocal, double bass
  • Ralph Jones– drums
  • Rudy Pompilli- tenor saxophone

Track listing:

  1. Calling All Comets – Bill Haley, Milt Gabler, Rudy Pompilli
  2. Rockin’ Thru the Rye – Bill Haley, Milt Gabler, Rusty Keefer, Catherine Cafra
  3. A Rockin’ Little Tune – Johnny Grande, Billy Williamson
  4. Hide and Seek – Paul Winley, Ethel Byrd
  5. Hey Then, There Now – Rudy Pompilli, Ralph Jones
  6. Goofin’ Around – Franny Beecher, Johnny Grande
  7. Hook, Line and Sinker – Bill Haley, Edward A. Khoury, Ronnie Bonner
  8. Rudy’s Rock – Bill Haley, Rudy Pompilli
  9. Choo Choo Ch’Boogie – Milt Gabler, Denver Darling, Vaughn Horton
  10. Blue Comet Blues – Franny Beecher, Al Rex
  11. Hot Dog Buddy Buddy – Bill Haley
  12. Tonight’s the Night – Bill Haley, Catherine Cafra


On June 20, 1975.

Neil_Young - Tonight is the Night_cover

On June 20, 1975, “Reprise” label released “Tonight’s the Night”, the sixth Neil Young studio album. It was recorded March 1970, December 1972, August–September 1973, at “Studio Instrument Rentals” in Hollywood, “Fillmore East” in New York City, “Broken Arrow Ranch”, and was produced by David Briggs , Neil Young, Tim Mulligan and Elliot Mazer. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” label ranked “Tonight’s the Night” at number 331on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Neil Young— vocals; guitar, ;piano, harmonica, vibes
  • Ben Keith— pedal steel guitar, vocal, slide guitar
  • Nils Lofgren— piano, vocal, guitar
  • Danny Whitten— vocal, electric guitar
  • Jack Nitzsche— electric piano, piano
  • Billy Talbot— bass
  • Tim Drummond— bass
  • Ralph Molina— drums, vocal
  • Kenny Buttrey— drums
  • George Whitsell — vocal

Track listing:

All tracks by Neil Young, except where noted.

  1. Tonight’s the Night
  2. Speakin’ Out
  3. World on a String
  4. Borrowed Tune
  5. Come on Baby Let’s Go Downtown – Neil Young, Danny Whitten
  6. Mellow My Mind
  7. Roll Another Number
  8. Albuquerque
  9. New Mama
  10. Lookout Joe
  11. Tired Eyes
  12. Tonight’s the Night