In October 1973.

In October 1973, “Capricorn” label released “Laid Back”, the debut Gregg Allman solo studio album. It was recorded in 1973, at “Record Plant” in New York City, and “Capricorn Sound Studios” in Macon, Georgia, and was produced by Johnny Sandlin and Gregg Allman.


  • Gregg Allman – vocals, organ, acoustic guitar
  • Tommy Talton – acoustic, electric and slide guitars, dobro, tambourine
  • Buzz Feiten– guitar
  • Jim Nalls – guitar
  • Scott Boyer – acoustic, electric and steel guitars, electric piano
  • Chuck Leavell– acoustic and electric pianos, vibes
  • Paul Hornsby– organ, keyboards, clavinet
  • Charlie Hayward– bass
  • David Brown – bass
  • Johnny Sandlin – bass
  • Bill Stewart – drums
  • Jai Johanny Johanson– percussion, conga
  • Butch Trucks– percussion, cabasa
  • David “Fathead” Newman– saxophone
  • Max Cahn, Tony Posk – violin
  • Ed Freeman – strings and horn arrangements, conductor
  • Carl Hall, Linda November, Hilda Harris, Cissy Houston, Emily Houston, June McGruder, Helene Miles, Eileen Gilbert, Maretha Stewart, Albertine Robinson – backing vocals
  • Johnny Sandlin – arranger, engineer
  • Ovie Sparks, Buddy Thornton, Jim Reeves – engineer
  • George Marino – engineer, mastering
  • Abdul Mati Klarwein – cover art

Track listing:

All tracks by Gregg Allman; except where noted.

  1. Midnight Rider – Gregg Allman, Robert Kim Payne
  2. Queen of Hearts
  3. Please Call Home
  4. Don’t Mess Up a Good Thing – Oliver Sain
  5. These Days – Jackson Browne
  6. Multi-Colored Lady
  7. All My Friends – Scott Boyer
  8. Will the Circle Be Unbroken – traditional; arranged by Gregg Allman and Johnny Sandlin

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.