Patti Smith Group: Radio Ethiopia

In October 1976, “Arista” label released “Radio Ethiopia”, the second Patti Smith Group studio album. It was recorded in 1976, at “Record Plant Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Jack Douglas.


  • Patti Smith– vocals, guitar, design
  • Lenny Kaye – vocals, guitar, bass, mixing
  • Richard Sohl– keyboards, synthesizer, piano
  • Ivan Kral– bass, guitar
  • Jay Dee Daugherty– drums, percussion, mixing, consultant
  • Brian Sperber – engineer
  • Jay Messina – engineer, mixing
  • Rod O’Brien, Sam Ginsberg – engineer assistant
  • Bob Irwin – mastering
  • George Marino– mastering
  • Vic Anesini – mastering
  • Nancy Greenberg – design
  • Lynn Goldsmith– photography

Track listing:

  1. Ask the Angels – Patti Smith, Ivan Kral
  2. Ain’t It Strange – Patti Smith, Ivan Kral
  3. Poppies – Patti Smith, Richard Sohl
  4. Pissing in a River – Patti Smith, Ivan Kral
  5. Pumping (My Heart) – Patti Smith, Ivan Kral, Jay Dee Daugherty
  6. Distant Fingers – Patti Smith, Allen Lanier
  7. Radio Ethiopia – Patti Smith, Lenny Kaye
  8. Abyssinia – Patti Smith, Lenny Kaye, Richard Sohl



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.