Tag Archives: New Frontier

On March 21, 2011.

On March 21, 2011, “Greenvoe Records” label released “The Impossible Song & Other Songs” third Roddy Woomble album. It was recorded in 2010, at “An Tobar” in Isle of Mull, and was produced by Roddy Woomble. The album’s artwork was by Mairi Hedderwick,


  • Roddy Woomble- lead vocals
  • Sorren Maclean – acoustic and electric guitars, banjo, organ, backing vocals, vibraphone
  • Gavin Fox- bass guitar, accordion
  • Gregor Donaldson – drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Jill O’Sullivan – backing vocals
  • Gordon Maclean – double bass, accordion
  • Mhairi Hall – piano
  • Kevin Brolly – clarinet
  • Aidan O’Rourke – fiddle
  • Seonaid Aitken – piano, violin, backing vocals
  • Chick Lyall – piano
  • Rob Hall – sopranino, soprano and tenor saxophones
  • Michael Marra- organ
  • Phil Cunningham– accordion
  • Gordon Maclean – recording
  • Tony Doogan – mixing, additional recording
  • Frank Arkwright – mastering
  • Rose Skelton – photo of Roddy
  • Darren Evans – layout

Track listing:

All tracks by Roddy Woomble and Sorren Maclean, except where noted.

  1. A New Day Has Begun – Roddy Woomble, Sorren Maclean, Jones
  2. Make Something Out of What it’s Worth
  3. Work Like You Can
  4. Tangled Wire
  5. Roll Along – Roddy Woomble, Sorren Maclean, Jones
  6. Hour After Hour – Roddy Woomble, Sorren Maclean, Jones
  7. Leaving Without Gold
  8. New Frontier – Roddy Woomble, Sorren Maclean, Jones
  9. Old Town
  10. Living as You Always Have
  11. Gather the Day
  12. Between the Old Moon



On October 29, 1982.


On October 29, 1982, “Warner Bros” label released “The Nightfly”, the first Donald Fagen solo album. It was recorded 1981 – 1982, at “Soundworks Digital Audio/Video Recording Studios”, “Automated Sound” in N.Y; “Village Recorders” in L.A., and was produced by Gary Katz. The album was certified Platinum in UK by “BPI”, and Platinum in the US by “RIIA”. The album cover design was by Gale Sasson and Vern Yenor, George Delmerico was art director, and the picture was taken by James Hamilton.

  • Donald Fagen- lead vocals, organ, synthesizer, synth blues harp, electric piano, piano, background vocals, horn arrangements, linear notes
  • Dave Bargeron- trombone, euphonium
  • Michael Brecker- tenor saxophone
  • Randy Brecker- trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Larry Carlton- lead guitar, guitar
  • Ronnie Cuber- baritone saxophone
  • Rick Derringer- guitar
  • Frank “Harmonica Frank” Floyd- background vocals
  • James Gadson- drums, additional drums
  • Ed Greene- drums
  • Gordon Grody – background vocals
  • Anthony Jackson- bass
  • Steve Jordan- drums
  • Steve Khan- acoustic guitar
  • Abraham Laboriel- bass
  • Daniel Lazerus – background vocals
  • Will Lee- bass
  • Hugh McCracken- guitar, harmonica
  • Leslie Miller – background vocals
  • Marcus Miller- bass
  • Rob Mounsey- synthesizer, horn arrangements
  • Roger Nichols- percussion, special effects
  • Michael Omartian– piano, electric piano
  • Dean Parks- guitar
  • Greg Phillinganes- synthesizer, piano, piano solo, electric piano ,  clavinet, synthesizer bass
  • Jeff Porcaro- drums, additional drums
  • Chuck Rainey- bass
  • Zachary Sanders – background vocals
  • Valerie Simpson- background vocals
  • David Tofani -alto saxophone
  • Starz Vanderlocket- percussion, background vocals
  • Engineers: Daniel Lazerus,Roger Nichols, Elliot Scheiner
  • Assistant engineers: Robin Lane, Mike Morongell, Cheryl Smith, Wayne Yurgelun
  • Mixing:Elliot Scheiner
  • Mastering:Bob Ludwig
  • Digital editing assistant: Mike Morongell, Wayne Yurgelun
  • Project assistant: Ginger Dettman, Steve Pokorny, Steve Woolard
  • Tracking:Elliot Scheiner
  • Authoring: David Dieckmann, George Lydecker
  • Sequencing:Roger Nichols
  • Overdub engineer: Daniel Lazerus
  • Design: Greg Allen
  • Editorial supervision: Cory Frye
  • Screen design: Andrew Thomas

Track listing:

All tracks by Donald Fagen, except where noted

  1. G.Y.
  2. Green Flower Street
  3. Ruby Baby – Jerry Leiberand Mike Stoller, arranged by Donald Fagen
  4. Maxine
  5. New Frontier
  6. The Nightfly
  7. The Goodbye Look
  8. Walk Between Raindrops