On October 29, 1982.


On October 29, 1982, “Warner Bros” label released “The Nightfly”, the  first Donald Fagen solo album. It was recorded 1981 – 1982, at “Soundworks Digital Audio/Video Recording Studios”, “Automated Sound” in N.Y; “Village Recorders” in L.A., and was produced by Gary Katz. The album was certified Platinum in UK by “BPI”, and in the US by “RIIA”.

  • Donald Fagen- lead and backing vocals, organ, synthesizer, synth blues harp, electric piano, horn arrangements, linear notes
  • Hugh McCracken- guitar, harmonica
  • Larry Carlton- lead guitar, guitar
  • Rick Derringer- guitar
  • Dean Parks- guitar
  • Steve Khan- acoustic guitar
  • Michael Omartian– piano, electric piano
  • Greg Phillinganes- synthesizer, piano, piano solo, electric piano ,  clavinet, synthesizer bass
  • Rob Mounsey- synthesizer, horn arrangements
  • Anthony Jackson- bass
  • Abraham Laboriel- bass
  • Marcus Miller- bass
  • Chuck Rainey- bass
  • Will Lee- bass
  • James Gadson- drums, additional drums
  • Ed Greene- drums
  • Jeff Porcaro- drums, additional drums
  • Roger Nichols- percussion, special effects
  • Starz Vanderlocket- percussion, backing vocals
  • David Tofani -alto saxophone
  • Michael Brecker- tenor saxophone
  • Ronnie Cuber- baritone saxophone
  • Randy Brecker- trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Dave Bargeron- trombone, euphonium
  • Frank “Harmonica Frank” Floyd- backing vocals
  • Gordon Grody – backing vocals
  • Leslie Miller – backing vocals
  • Daniel Lazerus – backing vocals
  • Zachary Sanders – backing vocals
  • Valerie Simpson- backing vocals
  • Daniel Lazerus,Roger Nichols, Elliot Scheiner – engineer
  • Robin Lane,  Cheryl Smith – engineer assistant
  • Mike Morongell – engineer assistant, digital editing assistant
  • Wayne Yurgelun – engineer assistant, digital editing assistant
  • Elliot Scheiner – mixing
  • Bob Ludwig – mastering
  • Daniel Lazerus – overdub engineer
  • Elliot Scheiner – tracking
  • Roger Nichols – sequencing
  • Ginger Dettman, Steve Pokorny, Steve Woolard – project assistant
  • David Dieckmann, George Lydecker – authoring
  • George Delmerico – art director
  • Greg Allen – design
  •  Gale Sasson, Vern Yenor – design
  • James Hamilton – photography
  • Cory Frye – editorial supervision
  • Andrew Thomas – screen design

Track listing:

All tracks by Donald Fagen, except where noted

  1. G.Y.
  2. Green Flower Street
  3. Ruby Baby – Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller, arranged by Donald Fagen
  4. Maxine
  5. New Frontier
  6. The Nightfly
  7. The Goodbye Look
  8. Walk Between Raindrops

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.