Tag Archives: Louisville

On November 15, 2019.

On November 15, 2019, “Drag City” label released “Made a Place”, the 23rd Bonnie “Prince” Billy (Will Oldham) album. It was recorded in 2019, at “Downtown Recording” in Louisville, Kentucky, US, and was produced by Mark Nevers.


  • Bonnie “Prince” Billy – vocals, guitar
  • Jacob Duncan – woodwind, keyboards
  • Chris Rodahaffer – banjo, pedal steel guitar
  • Nathan Salsburg – guitar
  • Joan Shelley – vocals
  • Danny Kiely – bass guitar
  • Mike Hyman – drums
  • Cheyenne Mize – fiddle
  • Chris Greenwell – recording
  • Carl Saff – mastering
  • Dan Osborn – layout

Track listing:

All tracks by Bonnie “Prince” Billy.

  1. New Memory Box
  2. Dream Awhile
  3. The Devil’s Throat
  4. Look Backward on Your Future, Look Forward to Your Past
  5. I Have Made a Place
  6. Squid Eye
  7. You Know the One
  8. This Is Far from Over
  9. Nothing Is Busted
  10. Mama Mama
  11. The Glow, Pt. 3
  12. Thick Air
  13. Building a Fire

On March 4, 2016.

On March 4, 2016, “RCA” label released “Ouroboros”, the sixth Ray LaMontagne studio album. It was recorded in February 2015, at “La La land” in Louisville, US, and was produced by Jim James.


  • Ray LaMontagne – vocals, acoustic and electric guitar
  • Dan Dorff – CP70, RMI, piano, vibes, Mellotron, Trident synthesizer, Multivox piano, Juno, pump organ, pocket piano
  • Dave Givan – drums, percussion
  • Jim James – electric guitar, saxophone, Juno, Trident synthesizer, background vocals
  • Seth Kaufman – bass, meditation box, electric guitar textures, slide guitar
  • Alexis Marsh – background vocals
  • Kevin Ratterman – Moog bass, piano strings, pocket piano, Moog F/X

Track listing:

All tracks by Ray LaMontagne.

  1. Homecoming
  2. Hey No Pressure
  3. The Changing Man
  4. While It Still Beats
  5. In My Own Way
  6. Another Day
  7. A Murmuration of Starlings
  8. Wouldn’t It Make a Lovely Photograph

On May 31, 2011.

On May 31, 2011, “ATO” label released “Circuital”, the sixth My Morning Jacket studio album. It was recorded in Louisville, Kentucky, and was produced by Jim James and Tucker Martine.


  • Jim James – vocals, guitar, keyboards
  • Tom Blakenship – bass guitar
  • Patrick Hallahan – drums, percussion
  • Carl Broemel – vocals, guitar, pedal steel, saxophone, horn arrangements
  • Bo Koster – vocals, keyboards, synthesizers, pianos, organs, glockenspiel, percussion
  • Jeremy Kittel- violin, viola
  • Ben Sollee – cello
  • Oscar Utterstrom – trombone, euphonium
  • Chris Gregg – alto and baritone saxophone
  • Leif Shires – trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Black Metal Girls – group backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Jim James.

  1. Victory Dance
  2. Circuital
  3. The Day is Coming
  4. Wonderful (The Way I Feel)
  5. Outta My System
  6. Holdin on to Black Metal – includes portions of “E-Saew Tam Punha Huajai (Advice Column for Love Troubles Part I)”, written by Kwan Jai and Kwan Jit Sriprajan
  7. First Light
  8. You Wanna Freak Out
  9. Slow Slow Tune
  10. Movin’ Away

On August 31, 1999.

On August 31, 1999, “Outpost” label released “Days of the New” (The Green album or Days of the New II), the second Days of the New studio album. It was recorded in 1999, at “Distillery Sound Studios” in Louisville, “Louie’s Clubhouse” and “Ocean Way Recording” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Travis Meeks and Todd Smith.


  • Travis Meeks: lead vocals, guitar
  • Max Maxwell: drums
  • Pete Peterson: arrangements
  • Peter Rhee: drums
  • Ray Rizzo: percussion
  • Nicole Scherzinger: backing vocals
  • Carl Shields: drums
  • Matt Taul: drums
  • Alex Tench: backing vocals
  • Brian Vinson: bass
  • Orchestra conducted and arranged – Suzie Katayama
  • Rick Baptist, Charles Boito, Eve Butler, Jon Clarke, Larry Corbett, Mario DeLeon, Joel Derouin, Virginia Frazer, Matthew J. Funes, Geraldo Hilera, Steven M. Holtman, Ronald Janelli, John T. Johnson, Renita Koven, Daniel Smith, David Stone, John Wittenberg, Phillip E. Yao – choir members
  • Choir – Sandie Hall, Linda Harmon, Luana Jackman, Victor Janacua, Bob Joyce, Jon Joyce, Rick Logan, Suzie Katayama, Donna Medina, Oren Waters
  • Todd Smith, Mike Baker, Clark Hagan – engineers
  • Scott Litt, Travis Meeks, Todd Smith – mixing
  • Greg Fidelman – digital engineering
  • Victor Janacua, Bill McCord, Al Sanderson, Alex Tench – second engineers
  • Jeral Tidwell – creative direction
  • Chip Dumstorf – art and digital direction
  • Jeral Tidwell – illustrations
  • Chip Dumstorf , Travis Meeks – design
  • Theresa Carpenter, Chaz Rough, Larry Smith – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Travis Meeks except where noted.

  1. Flight Response
  2. The Real – Travis Meeks, Todd Whitener
  3. Enemy
  4. Weapon & the Wound
  5. Skeleton Key
  6. Take Me Back Then
  7. Bring Yourself
  8. I Think
  9. Longfellow
  10. Untitled
  11. Phobics of Tragedy
  12. Not the Same
  13. Provider
  14. Last One – Travis Meeks, Todd Whitener

In October 1974.

In October 1974, “Gull” label released “Not Just Another Bunch of Pretty Faces” the seventh If studio album. It was recorded October 1973 – February 1974 at: “Sleepy Hollow Recording” in Ithaca, N.Y., “Majestic Sound” in London, “The Sound Pit” in Atlanta, “Allen-Martin Studios” in Louisville, and was produced by Lew Futterman, Jon Child and Cliff Davies.


  • Dick Morrissey– saxes and flute, lead vocals
  • Geoff Whitehorn– electric and acoustic guitars, lead and backing vocals
  • Gabriel Magno – Hammond organ, electric and acoustic pianos, electric harpsichord
  • Walt Monaghan– bass lead and backing vocals
  • Cliff Davies– drums, lead vocals , congas, vibes
  • Mike Tomich – bass

Track listing:

  1. In the Winter of Your Life – Geoff Whitehorn, Cliff Davies
  2. Stormy Every Weekday Blues – Cliff Davies
  3. Follow That with Your Performing Seals – Dick Morrissey
  4. Still Alive – Dick Morrissey, Brigitta Morrissey
  5. Borrowed Time – Cliff Davies
  6. Chiswick High Road Blues – Cliff Davies
  7. I Believe in Rock & Roll – Geoff Whitehorn, Walt Monaghan, Cliff Davies