In June 1971.

In June 1971, “Columbia” label released “Blood, Sweat & Tears 4”, the fourth Blood, Sweat & Tears album. It was recorded in 1971, and was produced by Don Heckman, Bobby Colomby and Roy Halee.


  • Dave Bargeron- trombone, tuba, bass trombone, baritone horn, acoustic bass
  • David Clayton-Thomas- lead vocals except as noted; guitar
  • Bobby Colomby- drums, percussion
  • Jim Fielder- bass; guitar
  • Dick Halligan- organ, trombone, piano, flute
  • Steve Katz- electric guitar, acoustic guitar, harmonica, mandolin; lead vocals
  • Fred Lipsius- alto saxophone, piano, organ, clarinet
  • Lew Soloff- trumpet, flugelhorn, piccolo trumpet
  • Chuck Winfield- trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Don Heckman- clarinet, bass clarinet
  • Michael Smith – congas
  • Engineers: Roy Halee, Lou Waxman, Robert Honablue
  • Arrangers: Dave Bargeron, David Clayton-Thomas, Jim Fielder, Dick Halligan, Al Kooper, Fred Lipsius
  • Design, photography: Norman Seeff

Track listing:

  1. Go Down Gamblin’ – David Clayton-Thomas
  2. Cowboys and Indians – Dick Halligan, Terry Kirkman
  3. John the Baptist (Holy John) – Al Kooper, Phyllis Major
  4. Redemption – Dick Halligan, David Clayton-Thomas
  5. Lisa, Listen to Me – Dick Halligan, David Clayton-Thomas
  6. A Look to My Heart – Fred Lipsius
  7. High on a Mountain – Steve Katz
  8. Valentine’s Day – Steve Katz
  9. Take Me in Your Arms (Rock Me a Little While) – Holland-Dozier-Holland
  10. For My Lady – SteveKatz
  11. Mama Gets High – Dave Bargeron, Steve Katz
  12. A Look to My Heart – Fred Lipsius

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.