James Blood Ulmer: Memphis Blood: The Sun Sessions

On September 4, 2001, “Hyena” label released “Memphis Blood: The Sun Sessions”, the 19th James Blood Ulmer album. It was recorded in April 2001, at “Sun Studios” in Memphis, Tennessee, and was produced by Vernon Reid.


  • James Blood Ulmer – vocals, guitar
  • Vernon Reid – guitar
  • Charles Burnham – violin
  • Rick Steff – piano, Wurlitzer electric piano, Hammond B3 organ
  • David Barnes – harmonica
  • Mark Peterson – bass
  • Aubrey Dayle – drums

Track listing:

  1. Spoonful – Willie Dixon
  2. I Want to Be Loved – Willie Dixon
  3. Little Red Rooster – Willie Dixon
  4. Dimples – James Bracken, John Lee Hooker
  5. I Just Want to Make Love to You – Willie Dixon
  6. Evil – Willy Dixon
  7. Death Letter – Son House
  8. Fattening Frogs for Snakes – Willie Williamson
  9. Money – John Lee Hooker
  10. I Love the Life I Live, I Live the Life I Love – Willie Dixon
  11. Too Lazy to Work, Too Nervous to Steal – Daylie Holmes, Marl H. Young
  12. Double Trouble – Otis Rush
  13. I Asked for Water (She Gave Me Gasoline) – Chester Burnett
  14. Back Door Man – Willie Dixon

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.