Tag Archives: Grey Matter

On August 23, 2005.

On August 23, 2005, “Saddle Creek Records” label released “When We Break”, the second Criteria studio album. It was recorded in 2005, at “C Plus Studio” in Omaha, Nebraska, “Presto! Recording Studios” in Lincoln, Nebraska, and was produced by AJ Mogis.


  • Steve Pedersen– vocals, guitar, recording
  • Aaron Druery- guitar
  • AJ Mogis– vocals, bass, recording, engineering, mixing
  • Mike Sweeney- drums
  • Doug Van Sloun- mastering

 Track listing:

  1. Prevent the World
  2. Draped in the Blood
  3. Good Luck
  4. Kiss the Wake
  5. Grey Matter
  6. Salt in Game
  7. Self Help
  8. Run Together
  9. Ride the Snake
  10. On Time
  11. Connections

On June 22, 1982.

On June 22, 1982, “A&M” label released “Nothing to Fear”, the second Oingo Boingo album. It was recorded November 1981-January 1982, and was produced by Joe Chiccarelli, Danny Elfamn, Steve Bartek, Richard Gibbs, Kerry Hatch, Johnny “Vatos” Hernandez, Sam “Sluggo” Phipps, Leon Schneiderman and Dale Turner.


  • Danny Elfman- lead vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Steve Bartek- lead guitar, backing vocals
  • Richard Gibbs- keyboards, synthesizers, backing vocals
  • Kerry Hatch – bass, key rhythm vocals
  • Johnny “Vatos” Hernandez – drums, percussion
  • Sam “Sluggo” Phipps- tenor and soprano saxophone
  • Leon Schneiderman – baritone and alto saxophone
  • Dale Turner- trumpet, trombone
  • Steve Bartek – horn arrangements
  • Joe Chiccarelli – engineer
  • Krohn McHenry – second recording engineer
  • Mitch Gibson – second mixing engineer
  • Jules Bates (Artrouble) – back cover, sleeve, art direction
  • Georganne Deen – front cover
  • Laura Engel – production assistant

Track listing:

All tracks by Danny Elfman.

  1. Grey Matter
  2. Insects
  3. Private Life
  4. Wild Sex (in the Working Class)
  5. Running on a Treadmill
  6. Whole Day Off
  7. Nothing to Fear (But Fear Itself)
  8. Why’d We Come
  9. Islands
  10. Reptiles and Samurai