Tag Archives: David Van De Pitte

In May 1972.

In May 1972, “Tamla” label released “People…Hold On”, the second Eddie Kendricks studio album. It was recorded in 1972, and was produced by Frank Wilson, Leonard Caston Jr. and Bobby Miller.


  • Eddie Kendricks – vocal
  • The Young Senators – rhythm
  • Cal Harris – Moog synthesizer
  • David Leacraft, David Van De Pitte, Leroy Fleming – arrangements
  • Weldon Arthur McDougal III – photography

Track listing:

  1. If You Let Me – Frank Wilson
  2. Let Me Run into Your Lonely Heart – Anita Poree, Frank Wilson
  3. Day By Day – Leonard Caston Jr., Terri McFaddin
  4. Girl You Need a Change of Mind – Anita Poree, Leonard Caston Jr.
  5. Someday We’ll Have a Better World – Norma Toney
  6. My People…Hold On – Anita Poree, Leonard Caston Jr.
  7. Date with the Rain – Bobby Miller
  8. Eddie’s Love – Anita Poree, Leonard Caston Jr.
  9. I’m on the Sideline – Penelope McClendon
  10. Just Memories – Anita Poree, Leonard Caston Jr.

In October 1971.

In October 1971, “Rare Earth” label released “Stoney and Meatloaf”, the debut Meat Loaf album. It was recorded in 1971, and was produced by Ralph Terrana, Russ Terrana, Mike Valvano, Nick Zesses and Dino Fekaris.


  • Lead vocals: Meat Loaf, Stoney Murphy
  • Backing vocals: Mike Campbell, Telma Hopkins, Joyce Vincent
  • Instrumentation by The Funk Brothers, Bob Babbitt, Mike Campbell, Ray Monette and Andrew Smith, Ralph Terrana, Charlie Irwin, Richard Ponte, Jim Simmons and Scott Strong.
  • Arrangers: Tom Baird, David Van De Pitte
  • Remix engineer: Glen Jordan
  • Mastering engineer: Jack Andrews

Track listing:

  1. (I’d Love to Be) As Heavy as Jesus – Patti Jerome, Ralph Terrana, Mike Valvano
  2. She Waits by the Window – Mike Campbell, Ray Monette
  3. It Takes All Kinds of People – Patti Jerome, Mike Valvano
  4. Game of Love – Ike Turner
  5. Kiss Me Again – Mike Campbell, Ray Monette
  6. What You See Is What You Get – Patti Jerome, Mike Valvano
  7. Sunshine (Where’s Heaven?) – Ralph Terrana, Mike Valvano
  8. Jimmy Bell – traditional
  9. Lady Be Mine – Mike Campbell, Ray Monette
  10. Jessica White – Mike Campbell, Ray Monette

On May 21, 1971.


On May 21, 1971, “Tamla” label released “What’s Going On”, the eleventh Marvin Gaye studio album. It was recorded June –September 1970; March – May 1971,  at “Hitsville U.S.A.”, “Golden World”, and “United Sound Studios” in Detroit and “The Sound Factory” in Hollywood, and was produced by Marvin Gaye. “What’s Going On” was an immediate success both commercially and critically, and is regarded as one of the most important albums in the music history. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked it at number six on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”. In 1985, readers of “NME” magazine voted “What’s Going On” the “Best Album of all Time”. “Guardian” ranked “What’s Going On at number one on its list of the “100 Best Albums Ever”.


  • Marvin Gaye – lead and backing vocals, piano, mellotron, box drum
  • The Detroit Symphony Orchestra conducted and arranged by David Van De Pitte
  • The Funk Brothers – instrumentation
  • Solo Horns – instrumentation
  • Joe Messina, Robert White– electric guitars
  • Jack Ashford– tambourine, percussion
  • Earl Van Dyke– keyboards
  • Johnny Griffith– celeste, keyboards
  • Max Janowsky – double bass
  • James Jamerson– bass guitar
  • Bob Babbitt– bass guitar
  • Chet Forest – drums
  • Eddie “Bongo” Brown– bongos, congas
  • Earl DeRouen – bongos, congas
  • Bobbye Hall– bongos
  • Jack Brokensha– vibraphone, percussion
  • Larry Nozero, Angelo Carlisi, George Benson, Tate Houston– saxophone
  • Eli Fontaine– alto saxophone
  • Wild Bill Moore– tenor saxophone
  • John Trudell, Maurice Davis – trumpet
  • Nilesh Pawar – oboe
  • Carl Raetz – trombone
  • Dayna Hardwick, William Perich – flutes
  • Gordon Staples, Zinovi Bistritzky, Beatriz Budinzky, Richard Margitza, Virginia Halfmann, Felix Resnick, Alvin Score, Lillian Downs, James Waring – violin
  • Edouard Kesner, Meyer Shapiro, David Ireland, Nathan Gordon – viola
  • Italo Babini, Thaddeus Markiewicz, Edward Korkigan – cello
  • Carole Crosby – harp
  • The Andantes – Jackie Hicks, Marlene Barrow, and Louvain Demps – backing vocals
  • Mel Farr, Charlie Sandersand  and Lem Barney of the Detroit Lions – backing vocals
  • Dave Bingof, The Detroit Pistons, Bobby Rogersof , The Miracles, Elgie Stover, Kenneth Stover – backing vocals
  • Curtis McNair – art direction
  • Katherine Marking – graphic design
  • Alana Coghlan – graphic design
  • James Hendin – photography

Track listing:

  1. What’s Going On – Al Cleveland, Marvin Gaye, Renaldo “Obie” Benson
  2. What’s Happening Brother – Marvin Gaye, James Nyx Jr.
  3. Flyin’ High (In the Friendly Sky) – Marvin Gaye, Anna Gordy Gaye, Elgie Stover
  4. Save the Children – Al Cleveland, Renaldo “Obie” Benson, Marvin Gaye
  5. God is Love – Marvin Gaye, Anna Gordy Gaye, James Nyx Jr.
  6. Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology) – Marvin Gaye
  7. Right On – Earl DeRouen, Marvin Gaye
  8. Wholy Holy – Renaldo “Oboe” Benson, Al Cleveland, Marvin Gaye
  9. Inner City Blues (Make Me Wanna Holler) – Marvin Gaye, James Nyx Jr,