On September 16, 1977.

Talking Heads - 77

On September 16, 1977, “Sire” label released “77”, the debut Talking Heads album. It was recorded 1976 – 1977, at the “Sundragon Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Tony Bongiovi, Lance Quinn and Talking Heads. The album featured the composition “Psycho killer”, which became one of band’s most popular songs.  “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “77” at number 290 on its list of “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • David Byrne – guitar, vocals
  • Chris Frantz– drums
  • Jerry Harrison– guitar, keyboards, backing vocals
  • Tina Weymouth– bass guitar

All tracks by David Byrne, except where noted.

  1. Uh-Oh, Love Comes to Town
  2. New Feeling
  3. Tentative Decisions
  4. Happy Day
  5. Who Is It
  6. No Compassion
  7. The Book I Read
  8. Don’t Worry About the Government
  9. First Week/Last Week..Carefree
  10. Psycho Killer – David Byrne, Chris Frantz, Tina Weymouth
  11. Pulled Up

On September 16, 1967.


On September 16, 1967, “Philips” label released “Scott”, the debut Scott Walker solo album. It was recorded in 1967, and was produced by John Franz. The album was released only six months after the release of the Walker Brothers third album “Images”, and was produced by John Franz. “Scott” is mixture of Walker’s original compositions and cover versions of compositions by other authors.


  • Scott Walker – vocals
  • Wally Stott– arrangements, conductor
  • Reg Guest – arrangements, conductor
  • Peter Knight– arrangements, conductor

Track listing:

  1. Mathilde – Jacques Brel, Gérard Jouannest and Mort Shuman
  2. Montague Terrace – Noel Scott Engel
  3. Angelica – Cynthia Well and Barry Mann
  4. The Lady came from Baltimore – Tim Hardin
  5. When Joanna loved me – Robert Wells and Jack Segal
  6. My death – Jacques Brell and Mort Shuman
  7. The Big hurt – Wayne Shankin
  8. Such a small love – Noel Scott Engel
  9. You’re gonna hear from me – Andre Previn and Dory Previn
  10. Through a long and sleepless night – Mark Gordon and Alfred Newman
  11. Always coming back to you – Noel Scott Engel
  12. Amsterdam – Jacques Brel and Mort Shuman


On September 15, 1978.


On September 15, 1978, “DiscReet” label released “Studio Tan”, the twenty – fourth Frank Zappa album. It was recorded from 1969, 1974 – 1976 at “The Record Plant” in Los Angeles; “Royce Hall”, “UCLA” and “Caribou Studios” in Nederland, Colorado and was produced by Frank Zappa.


  • Frank Zappa – guitar, vocals, percussion
  • George Duke– keyboards
  • John Berkman – piano
  • Tom Fowler– bass guitar
  • Terry Bozzio– drums
  • Davey Moire – vocals
  • Eddie Jobson– keyboards, yodeling
  • Max Bennett– bass guitar
  • Paul Humphrey– drums
  • Don Brewer– bongos
  • James “Bird Legs” Youmans – bass guitar
  • Ruth Underwood– percussion, synthesizer
  • Michael Zearott– conductor
  • Pamela Goldsmith – viola
  • Murray Adler – violin
  • Sheldon Sanov – violin
  • Jerry Kessler – cello
  • Edward Meares – upright bass
  • Bruce Fowler– trombone
  • Don Waldrop – trombone
  • Jock Ellis – trombone
  • Dana Hughes – bass trombone
  • Earle Dumler – oboe
  • JoAnn Caldwell McNab – bassoon
  • Mike Altschul – flute
  • Graham Young – trumpet
  • Jay Daversa – trumpet
  • Malcolm McNab– trumpet
  • Ray Reed – flute
  • Victor Morosco – saxophone
  • John Rotella – woodwind instruments
  • Alan Estes – percussion
  • Emil Richards– percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Frank Zappa.

  1. Greggery Peccary
  2. Let Me Take You to the Beach
  3. Revised Music for Guitar & Low-Budget Orchestra

On September 15, 1975.


On September 15, 1975, “Bearsville” label released “Fool for the City”, the fifth Foghat album . It was recorded in 1974 at the “Suntreader Studios” in Sharon, Vermont, and was produced by Nick Jameson. It was their most successful commercial album so far and featured band’s most popular song “Slow ride”.


  • Lonesome Dave Peverett- lead vocals, guitar
  • Rod “The Bottle” Price- guitar, slide guitar, steel guitar, vocals
  • Roger Earl- drums, percussion
  • Nick Jameson- bass guitar, keyboards, guitar, vocals
  • Tony Loew – photography
  • Tony Outeda – coordinator

Track listing:

  1. Fool for the City – Dave Peverett
  2. My Babe – Hatfield and Medley
  3. Slow Ride – Dave Peverett
  4. Terraplane Blues – Robert Johnson
  5. Save Your Loving – Rod Price, Dave Peverett
  6. Drive Me Home – Dave Peverett
  7. Take it or Leave it – Nick Jameson, Dave Peverett


On September 15, 1972.


On September 15, 1972, “Capitol” label released “Phoenix”, the sixth Grand Funk Railroad studio album. This is first album that was not produced by Terry Knight, it was produced by the band members.


  • Mark Farner- guitar, harmonica, keyboards, vocals
  • Mel Schacher- bass, vocals
  • Don Brewer- drums, congas, percussion, vocals
  • Craig Frost- organ, clavinet, harpsichord, piano, vocals
  • Doug Kershaw- violin, electric fiddle

All tracks by Mark Farner.

  1. Flight of the Phoenix
  2. Trying to Get Away
  3. Someone
  4. She Got to Move Me
  5. Rain Keeps Fallin
  6. I Just Gotta Know
  7. So You Won’t Have to Die
  8. Freedom is for Children
  9. Gotta Find Me a Better Day
  10. Rock & Roll Soul

On September 15, 1971.

Cahoots - The Band

On September 15, 1971, “Capitol” label released “Cahoots”, the fourth Band studio album “Cahoots”. It was recorded in 1971 at “Bearsville Sound Studio”, in Bearsville, New York, and was produced by the Band. This is their last album with original material for the next four years.


  • Rick Danko- bass, vocals
  • Levon Helm- drums, mandolin, upright bass, vocals
  • Garth Hudson- organ, piano, tenor and baritone saxophones
  • Richard Manuel- piano, drums, organ, slide guitar, vocals
  • Robbie Robertson- guitars, piano
  • Allen Toussaint- brass arrangements
  • Van Morrison- vocals
  • Libby Titus- backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Robbie Robertson, except where noted.

  1. Life is a Carnival – Levon Helm, Robbie Robertson, Rick Danko
  2. When I Paint My Masterpiece – Bob Dylan
  3. Last of the Blacksmiths
  4. Where Do We Go From Here
  5. 4% Pantomime – Robbie Robertson, Van Morrison
  6. Shoot Out in Chinatown
  7. The Moon Struck One
  8. Thinkin’ Out Loud
  9. Smoke Signal
  10. Volcano
  11. The River Hymn



On September 15, 1965.

Otis blue

On September 15, 1965, “Stax Records” released “Otis Blue/Otis Redding Sings Soul”, the third Otis Redding studio album . It was recorded from April – July 1965, at the “Stax Recording Studios” in Memphis, Tennessee and was produced by Jim Stewart, Isaac Hayes and David Porter. Redding was backed by house band Booker T. & the M.G.’s, a horn section of members of The Mar-Keys and The Memphis Horns, and Isaac Hayes as pianist.  “Rolling Stone” magazine raked “Otis Blue” at number 74 on its list of the“500 Greatest Albums of All Time”,


  • Otis Redding– vocals
  • Booker T. Jones– keyboards, piano
  • Isaac Hayes– keyboards, piano, producer
  • Steve Cropper– guitar, producer
  • Donald Dunn– bass
  • Al Jackson, Jr.– drums
  • Wayne Jackson– trumpet
  • Gene Miller – trumpet
  • Andrew Love– tenor saxophone
  • Floyd Newman– baritone saxophone
  • William Bell – backing vocals
  • Earl Sims – backing vocals

Track listing:

  1. Ole Man Trouble – Otis Redding
  2. Respect – Otis Redding
  3. Change Gonna Come – Sam Cooke
  4. Down in the Valley – Bert Berns, Solomon Burke, Babe Chivian, Joe Martin
  5. I’ve Been Loving You Too Long – Otis Redding, Jerry Butler
  6. Shake – Sam Cooke
  7. My Girl – Smokey Robinson, Ronald White
  8. Wonderful World – Sam Cooke, Lou Adler, Herb Alpert
  9. Rock Me Baby – B.B. King
  10. Satisfaction – Mick Jagger, Keith Richards
  11. You Don’t Miss Your Water – William Bell