On September 17, 1991.


On September 17, 1991, “Geffen” label released “Use Your Illusion I”, the third Guns N’ Roses studio album. It was recorded and mixed January 1990–August 1991, at “A&M Studios”; “Record Plant Studios”; “Studio 56”; “Image Recording”; “Conway Studios”; “Metalworks Recording Studios”, and “Skip Saylor Recording”, and was produced by Mike Clink and Guns N’ Roses. The album cover was designed by Mark Kostabi. The album was certified 5 x Platinum in Argentina by “CAPIF”; 2 x Platinum in Austria by “IFPI”; 2 x Platinum in Belgium by “BEA”; Platinum in Brazil by “ABPD”; Diamond in Canada by “Music Canada”; Platinum in Finland by “Musiikkituottajat”; Platinum in France by “SNEP”; 2 x Platinum in Germany by “BVMI”; 2 x Platinum in Japan by “RIAJ”;Platinum in Mexico by “AMPROFON”; Platinum in New Zealand by “RMNZ”; Platinum in Sweden by “RMNZ”; 2 x Platinum in Switzerland by “IFPI Switzerland”; Platinum in UK by “BPI, and 7x Platinum in the US by the “RIIA’.


  • Axl Rose– lead and backing vocals, piano, choir and synthesizer programming, co-lead vocals, acoustic guitar, keyboards , sound effects
  • Slash– lead guitar, co-rhythm guitar, slide guitar, acoustic guitar, dobro, classical guitar, talkbox, six-string basson, backing vocals
  • Izzy Stradlin– lead and backing vocals, rhythm guitar,  acoustic guitar, percussion
  • Duff McKagan– bass, acoustic guitar, backing vocals
  • Matt Sorum– drums, percussion, backing vocals, choir
  • Dizzy Reed– keyboards, piano, clavinet, organ, backing vocals
  • West Arkeen– acoustic guitar
  • Michael Monroe– harmonica, saxophone
  • Jon Thautwein – horn
  • Matthew McKagan– horn
  • Rachel West– horn
  • Robert Clark – horn
  • Tim Doyle – tambourine
  • Alice Cooper– co-lead vocals
  • Reba Shaw– backing vocals
  • Stuart Bailey – backing vocals
  • Shannon Hoon– backing vocals
  • Bruce Foster – sound effects
  • Johann Langlie – programming, sound effects
  • Mike Clink– engineer, nutcracker
  • Jim Mitchell – additional engineering
  • Allen Abrahamson, Buzz Burrowes, Chris Puram –engineer assistant
  • Stu Young – engineer assistant
  • Leon Granados– engineer assistant
  • Mike Douglass – engineer assistant
  • Talley Sherwood – engineer assistant
  • Craig Portelis – engineer assistant
  • Ed Goodreau – engineer assistant
  • Jason Roberts – engineer assistant
  • John Aguto – engineer assistant
  • Bill Price– mixing
  • George Marino – mastering
  • Kevin Reagan – art direction, graphic design
  • Mark Kostabi – album artwork
  • Robert John – photography

Track listing:

  1. Right Next Door to Hell – Axl Rose, Izzy Stradlin, Timo Caltia
  2. Dust N’ Bones – Slash, Izzy Stradlin, Duff McKagan
  3. Live and Let Die – Paul McCartney, Linda McCartney
  4. Don’t Cry – Axl Rose, Izzy Stradlin
  5. Perfect Time – Axl Rose, Slash, izzy Stradlin
  6. You Ain’t the First – Izzy Stradlin
  7. Bad Obsession – Izzy Stradlin, West Arkeen
  8. Back Off Bitch – Axl Rose, Paul Tobias
  9. Double Talkin’ Jive – Izzy Stradlin
  10. November Rain – Axl Rose
  11. The Garden – Axl Rose, Arkeen, Del James
  12. Garden of Eden – Axl Rose, Slash
  13. Don’t Damn Me – Axl rose, Slash, Dave Lank
  14. Bad Apples – Axl Rose, Slash,
  15. Dead Horse – Axl Rose
  16. Coma – Axl Rose, Slash


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.