On September 17, 1991.


On September 17, 1991, “Geffen” label released “Use Your Illusion II”, the fourth Guns N’ Roses album. It was recorded January 1990–August 1991, at “A&M Studios”; “Record Plant Studios”; “Studio 56”; “Image Recording”; “Conway Studios”, and “Metalworks Recording Studios”, and was produced by Mike Clink, Axl Rose, Slash, Duff McKagan, Matt Sorum and Izzy Stradin. The album was certified 6 x Platinum in Argentina by “CAPIF”; 2 x Platinum in Austria by “IFPI Austria”; 9 x Platinum in Canada by “Music Canada”; Platinum in France by “SNEP”; 2 x Platinum in Japan by “RIAJ”; Platinum in New Zealand by “RMNZ”; Platinum in Sweden by “GLF”; 3 x Platinum in Switzerland by “IFPI Switzerland”; Platinum in UK by “BPI”, and 7 x Platinum in the US by the “RIIA”.


  • Axl Rose– lead and backing vocals, piano, whistling, rhythm guitar, synthesizer, drum machine
  • Slash– lead guitar, acoustic guitar, banjo
  • Izzy Stradlin – lead and backing vocals, rhythm guitar, acoustic guitar , sitar , additional lead guitar
  • Duff McKagan– lead and backing vocals, bass, percussion
  • Matt Sorum– drums, backing vocals
  • Dizzy Reed– keyboards, piano, organ, backing vocals
  • Howard Teman – piano
  • Steven Adler– drums
  • Johann Langlie – drums, keyboards, sound effects
  • The Waters – backing vocals
  • Shannon Hoon– backing vocals
  • Mike Clink– engineer
  • Jim Mitchell – additional engineering
  • Allen Abrahamson, Buzz Burrowes & Chris Puram – engineer assistant
  • Craig Portelis – engineer assistant
  • Ed Goodreau – engineer assistant
  • Jason Roberts – engineer assistant
  • John Aguto – engineer assistant
  • Stu Young – engineer assistant
  • Leon Granados – engineer assistant
  • Mike Douglass – engineer assistant
  • Talley Sherwood – engineer assistant
  • Bill Price– mixing
  • George Marino– mastering
  • Kevin Reagan – art direction, graphic design
  • Mark Kostabi – artwork
  • Mark Kostabi – design
  • Robert John – photography

Track listing:

  1. Civil War – Axl Rose, Duff McKagan
  2. 14 years – Axl Rose, Izzy Stradlin
  3. Yesterdays – Axl Rose, West Arkeen, Del James, Billy McCloud
  4. Knockin’ on Heaven’s Door – Bob Dylan
  5. Get in the Ring – Axl Rose, Slash, Duff McKagan
  6. Shotgun Blues – Axl Rose
  7. Breakdown – Axl Rose
  8. Pretty Tied Up – Izzy Stradlin
  9. Locomotive (complicity) – Axl Rose, Slash
  10. So Fine – Duff McKagan
  11. Estranged – Axl Rose
  12. You Could Be Mine – Axl Rose, Izzy Stradlin
  13. Don’t Cry (Alternate lyrics) – Axl Rose, Izzy Stradlin
  14. My World – Axl Rose


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.