On August 24, 1981.

Tattoo You

On August 24, 1981, “Rolling Stones” label released “Tattoo You”, the sixteen Rolling Stones album. It was recorded November–December 1972, January–March 1975, January–March 1978, January–October 1979, October 1980 – June 1981, and was produced by The Glimmer Twins. In 1989, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “Tattoo You” at number 213 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”. Peter Corriston, who was responsible for the album art direction and design, won a “Grammy Award” in the category of “Best Album Package”. The album was certified 4 x Platinum in Canada by “Music Canada” and 4 x Platinum in the US by the “RIIA”.


  • Mick Jaggerr– lead and backing vocals; electric guitar, harmonica
  • Keith Richards– lead and backing, electric guitar, bass guitar
  • Ronnie Wood– electric guitar, bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Mick Taylor– electric guitar
  • Bill Wyman– bass guitar; synthesizer, guitar
  • Charlie Watts– drums
  • Nicky Hopkins– piano; organ
  • Ian Stewart– piano
  • Billy Preston– keyboards
  • Wayne Perkins– electric lead guitar
  • Ollie Brown– percussion
  • Pete Townshend– backing vocals
  • Sonny Rollins– saxophone
  • Jimmy Miller– percussion
  • Michael Carabello– cowbell,  conga, guiro, claves, cabasa, conga
  • Chris Kimsey– piano
  • Barry Sage– handclaps

Track listing:

All tracks by Mick Jagger and Keith Richards, except where noted.

  1. Start Me Up
  2. Hang Fire
  3. Slave
  4. Little T&A
  5. Black Limousine – Mick Jaggerr, Keith Richard, Ronnie Wood
  6. Neighbours
  7. Worried About You
  8. Tops
  9. Heaven
  10. No Use in Crying – Mick Jagger, Keith Richards, Ronnie Wood
  11. Waiting on a Friend

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.