On June 15, 1979.


On June 15, 1979, “Vertigo” label released “Communiqué”, the second Dire Straits studio album. It was recorded November – December 1978, at “Compass Point Studios” in Nassau, Bahamas, and was produced by Barry Beckett and Jerry Wexler. The album cover was designed by Phonogram’s advertising agency “Grant Advertising” and in 1979 it won album cover of the year in the “NME” awards. “Communiqué” was certified  Platinum in the UK, and 2 x Platinum in France.


  • Mark Knopfler– vocals, lead and rhythm guitars
  • David Knopfler– vocals, rhythm guitar
  • John Illsley– vocals, bass
  • Pick Withers– drums
  • Bear – keyboards
  • Jack Nuber – engineer
  • Thelbert Rigby – tape operator
  • Gregg Hamm – mixing
  • Bobby Hata – mastering
  • Paul Wexler – mastering supervisor
  • Bob Ludwig– remastering
  • Alan Schmidt – art direction

Track listing:

All tracks by Mark Knopfler.

  1. Once upon a Time in the West
  2. News
  3. Where Do You Think You’re Going?
  4. Communiqué
  5. Lady Writer
  6. Angel of mercy
  7. Portobello Belle
  8. Single-Handed Sailor
  9. Follow Me Home


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.