On June 15, 1979.


On June 15, 1979, “Factory” label released “Unknown Pleasures”, the debut Joy Division album. It was recorded in April 1979 and was produced by Martin Hannett. The inner sleeve features the photograph “Hand Through a Doorway”, by Ralph Gibson. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 24 in its list of the “50 Coolest Records”.Spin” magazine ranked “Unknown Pleasures” at number 11 in its list of the “50 Most Essential Punk Records”, and in the lists of the “Fifteen Most Influential Albums”.”NME” magazine ranked the album at number 4 in its list of “The Greatest Albums of the ’70s”.


  • Ian Curtis– lead and backing vocals
  • Bernard Sumner– guitar, keyboard
  • Peter Hook– lead and backing vocals, bass guitar
  • Stephen Morris– drums, percussion
  • Martin Hannett– synthesizer, effects
  • Chris Nagle – engineer
  • Peter Saville– design
  • Chris Mathan – design

Track listing:

All tracks by Ian Curtis, Peter Hook, Stephen Morris, and Bernard Sumner.

  1. Disorder
  2. Day of the Lords
  3. Candidate
  4. Insight
  5. New Dawn Fades
  6. She’s Lost Control
  7. Shadowplay
  8. Wilderness
  9. Interzone
  10. I Remember Nothing

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.