Tag Archives: Someone Somewhere in Summertime

On November 11, 2016.

On November 11, 2016, “Caroline International” label released “Acoustic”, the seventeenth Simple Minds studio album. It was recorded in 2016, at “Gorbals Studio” in Glasgow, Scotland, and was produced by Gavin Goldberg and Andy Wright. The album features  acoustic studio recordings of previously released songs.


  • Jim Kerr – vocals
  • Gordy Goudie – guitar, harmonica, arranger
  • Lewis Chapman – percussion, programming
  • Charlie Burchill – guitar, accordion, arranger, programming
  • Ged Grimes – bass, background vocals
  • Cherisse Osei – percussion
  • KT Tunstall – vocal
  • Sarah Brown – background vocals
  • Gavin Goldberg – programming, engineer, mixing
  • Stuart Crouch – art direction, design
  • Ruth Rowland – hand lettering
  • Paul Cox, Paul Khera, Eric Misko, Alan Wild – photography

Track listing:

  1. The American
  2. Promised You a Miracle
  3. Glittering Prize
  4. See the Lights
  5. New Gold Dream (81-82-83-84)
  6. Someone Somewhere in Summertime
  7. Waterfront
  8. Sanctify Yourself
  9. Chelsea Girl
  10. Alive and Kicking
  11. Don’t You (Forget About Me)
  12. Long Black Train


On September 13, 1982.

New gold dream

On September 13, 1982, “A&M” label released “New Gold Dream, the fifth Simple Minds studio album. It was recorded in 1982, and was produced by Peter Walsh. “New Gold Dream” was a turning point for the band as it gained critical and commercial success both in the UK and Europe.


  • Jim Kerr- lead vocals
  • Charlie Burchill- guitars and effects
  • Michael MacNeil- keyboards and effects
  • Derek Forbes- bass guitar
  • Mel Gaynor- drums on
  • Mike Ogletree- drums
  • Kenny Hyslop- drums
  • Sharon Campbell – voice
  • Herbie Hancock- keyboards

All tracks by Simple Minds.

  1. Someone Somewhere in Summertime
  2. Colours Fly and Catherine Wheel
  3. Promised You a Miracle
  4. Big Sleep
  5. Somebody Up There Likes You
  6. New Gold Dream (81-82-83-84)
  7. Glittering prize
  8. Hunter and the Hunted
  9. King is White and in the Crowd