Tag Archives: Massive Attack

On July 6, 2006.

On July 6, 2006, “4AD” label released “Return to Cookie Mountain”, the second TV on the Radio studio album. It was recorded in 2006, and was produced by David Andrew Sitek.


  • Kyp Malone – vocals, bass, guitar
  • David Bowie, Kazu Makino, Omega “C Taylor” Moon, Katrina Ford, Shanina Robinson – vocals
  • David Andrew Sitek – samples, guitars, bass, flute, keys, synth, magic
  • Gerard Smith – piano, drums, bass, electric sitar
  • Jaleel Bunton – drums, guitars, piano, percussion, Rhodes
  • Jeremy Wilms – cello
  • Martin Perna – baritone saxophone
  • Tunde Adebimpe – vocals, percussion
  • Choir – Jaleel Bunton, Akwetey & Aku Orraca-Tetteh, Devang Shah, Aaron Aites, Tunde Adebimpe, Gerard Smith
  • Akwetey, Aku, Devang Shah (Dragons of Zynth) – percussion
  • Martin Perna, Chris Taylor – horns
  • Stuart D. Bogie – bass harmonica, bass clarinet
  • Chris Taylor – clarinet, horn arrangements

Track listing:

  1. I Was a Lover – Kyp Malone, David Andrew Sitek
  2. Hours – Tunde Adebimpe
  3. Province – Kip Malone, David Andrew Sitek
  4. Playhouses – Kip Malone
  5. Wolf Like Me – Tunde Adebimpe
  6. A Method – Tunde Adebimpe
  7. Let the Devil In – Kip Malone
  8. Dirtywhirl – Tunde Adebimpe
  9. Blues from Down Here – Kip Malone
  10. Tonight – Tunde Adebimpe
  11. Wash the Day – Kip Malone, David Andrew Sitek, Tunde Adebimpe

Samples used:

  • Teardrop by Massive Attack
  • Lou Reed’s 1975 album Metal Machine Music



On September 26, 1994.


On September 26, 1994, “Circa” label released “Protection” the second Massive Attack album. It was recorded 1993–1994, at “Wild Bunch Studios” in London; “Massive Attack” and “Antenna Studios” in Bristol, and was produced by Massive Attack and Nellee Hooper.


  • Massive Attack – mixing, programming, artwork
  • Nellee Hooper– mixing
  • Marius De Vries, Andy Wright, The Insects, Nick Warren– programming
  • Robert “3d” Del Naja, Grant “Daddy G” Marshall, Tricky, Tracey Thorn, Horace Andy, Nicolette– vocals
  • Craig Armstrong– piano
  • Chester Kamen– guitar
  • Rob Merril – drums
  • Mark “Spike” Stent– mix engineer
  • Jim Abbiss – mix engineer
  • Jeremy “Jim Bob” Wheatley – additional Engineering
  • Al Stone – additional engineering
  • Mike Marsh – mastering
  • Michael-Nash Assoc. – artwork
  • Matthew Donaldson, Jean Baptiste Mondino, Eddie Monsoon – photography


  1. Protection” (sampled “The Payback” by James Brown) – Vowles/Del Naja/Marshall/Thorn
  2. Karmacoma – Vowles/Del Naja/Marshall/Tricky/Norfolk/Locke
  3. Three – Vowles/Del Naja/Marshall/Hooper/Suwoton
  4. Weather Storm” (sampled “It’s Time for Love” by Pieces of a Dream)) – Vowles/Del Naja/Marshall/Hooper/Armstrong/Harmon/Napoleon/Lloyd/Murray
  5. Spying Glass” (sampled “Chapter 3” by Joe Gibbs & the Professionalsand “Shaft in Africa” by Johnny Pate – Vowles/Del Naja/Marshall/Hooper/Andy
  6. Better Things” (sampled “Never Can Say Goodbye” by James Brown) – Vowles/Del Naja/Marshall/Thorn/Watt/Brown
  7. Eurochild” (sampled “Cheetah” by Startled Insects) – Vowles/Del Naja/Marshall/Tricky/Norfolk/Locke
  8. Sly” (sampled “Africa Talks to You ‘The Asphalt Jungle'” by Sly and the Family Stone) – Vowles/Del Naja/Marshall/Hooper/Suwoton/Goldman
  9. Heat Miser – Vowles/Del Naja/Marshall/Hooper/de Vries
  10. Light My Fire” (live) (sampled “Light My Fire” by Jackie Wilson) – The Doors


On February 8, 2010.


On February 8, 2010, “Virgin” label released “Heligoland”, the fifth Massive Attack studio album. It was recorded 2005 – 2009, and was produced by Neil Davidge and Robert Del Naj.


  • Horace Andy – vocals, keyboards, synth bass
  • Tunde Adebimpe, Damon Albarn, Blurand, Hope Sandoval, Guy Garvey, Marina Topley-Bird – vocals
  • Adrian Utley – guitar
  • John Baggott – keyboards
  • Neil Davidge – bass
  • Billy Fuller – bass
  • Jerry Fuch – drums
  • Damon Reece – drums

Track listing:

  1. Pray for Rain – Robert Del Naja, Grant Marshall, Neil Davidge, Tunde Adebimpe
  2. Babel – Robert Del Naja, Grant Marshall, Neil Davidge, Martina Topley-Bird
  3. Splitting the Atom – Robert Del Naja, Grant Marshall, Neil Davidge, Damon Albarn
  4. Girl I Love You – Robert Del Naja, Grant Marshall, Neil Davidge, Horace Andy
  5. Psyche – Robert Del Naja, Grant Marshall, Neil Davidge, Martina Topley-Bird
  6. Flat of the Blade – Robert Del Naja, Grant Marshall, Neil Davidge, Damon Albarn, Guy Garvey
  7. Paradise Circus – Robert Del Naja, Grant marshall, Hope Sandoval, Stew Jackson, Dan Brown
  8. Rush Minute – Robert Del Naja, Grant Marshall, Neil Davidge
  9. Saturday Come Slow – Robert Del Naja, Grant Marshall, Hope Sandoval, Stew Jackson, Dan Brown
  10. Atlas Air – Robert Del Naja, Grant Marshall, Neil Davidge, John Baggott