Tag Archives: Metal Machine Music

In July 1975.

In July 1975, “RCA” label released “Metal Machine Music” (subtitled The Amine β Ring), the fifth Lou Reed solo album.It was recorded in 1975, and was produced by Lou Reed. The album features music pieces without the usual song structure, an hour of modulated feedback and guitar effects, mixed at varying speeds, and is considered a forerunner of industrial and noise rock,


Lou Reed – guitars, keyboards, vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Lou Reed.

  1. Metal Machine Music, Part 1
  2. Metal Machine Music, Part 2
  3. Metal Machine Music, Part 3
  4. Metal Machine Music, Part 4

On July 6, 2006.

On July 6, 2006, “4AD” label released “Return to Cookie Mountain”, the second TV on the Radio studio album. It was recorded in 2006, and was produced by David Andrew Sitek.


  • Kyp Malone – vocals, bass, guitar
  • David Bowie, Kazu Makino, Omega “C Taylor” Moon, Katrina Ford, Shanina Robinson – vocals
  • David Andrew Sitek – samples, guitars, bass, flute, keys, synth, magic
  • Gerard Smith – piano, drums, bass, electric sitar
  • Jaleel Bunton – drums, guitars, piano, percussion, Rhodes
  • Jeremy Wilms – cello
  • Martin Perna – baritone saxophone
  • Tunde Adebimpe – vocals, percussion
  • Choir – Jaleel Bunton, Akwetey & Aku Orraca-Tetteh, Devang Shah, Aaron Aites, Tunde Adebimpe, Gerard Smith
  • Akwetey, Aku, Devang Shah (Dragons of Zynth) – percussion
  • Martin Perna, Chris Taylor – horns
  • Stuart D. Bogie – bass harmonica, bass clarinet
  • Chris Taylor – clarinet, horn arrangements

Track listing:

  1. I Was a Lover – Kyp Malone, David Andrew Sitek
  2. Hours – Tunde Adebimpe
  3. Province – Kip Malone, David Andrew Sitek
  4. Playhouses – Kip Malone
  5. Wolf Like Me – Tunde Adebimpe
  6. A Method – Tunde Adebimpe
  7. Let the Devil In – Kip Malone
  8. Dirtywhirl – Tunde Adebimpe
  9. Blues from Down Here – Kip Malone
  10. Tonight – Tunde Adebimpe
  11. Wash the Day – Kip Malone, David Andrew Sitek, Tunde Adebimpe

Samples used:

  • Teardrop by Massive Attack
  • Lou Reed’s 1975 album Metal Machine Music