Tag Archives: Joe Auckland

On October 28, 2016.

On October 28, 2016, “Lucky 7 Records” label released “Can’t Touch Us Now”, the eleventh Madness studio album. It was recorded in 2016, at “Toe Rag Studios” and “Iguana Studio” in London, and was produced by Clive Langer, Liam Watson, Charlie Andrew, Graham McPharson, Mike Barson, Chris Foreman, Mark Bedford, Lee Thompson and Daniel Woodgate.


  • Suggs(Graham McPherson) – lead and backing vocals, tambourine, brass and string arrangements
  • Mike Barson– upright piano, organ, harpsichord, electric piano,  glockenspiel,  celesta, Mellotron, guitar, saw, backing vocals, string, brass and string arrangements
  • Chris Foreman– guitar, Mellotron, Roland Juno-60, brass and string arrangements
  • Mark Bedford– bass, double bass, tuba, string arrangements
  • Lee Thompson– lead and backing vocals, saxophone, Jew’s harp, brass arrangements
  • Daniel Woodgate– drums, programming, brass and string arrangements
  • Mike Kearsey – trombone, brass arrangements
  • Steve Hamilton – baritone saxophone, brass arrangements
  • Joe Auckland – trumpet, banjo, brass arrangements
  • Mez Clough – percussion
  • Ade Omotayo, Spider J., London Community Gospel Choir, Elise De Villaine – backing vocals
  • Jo Archard – violin
  • Kirsty Mangan– violin, string arrangements
  • Amy May, Sarah Chapman – viola
  • Rachael Lander– cello
  • Charlie Andrew– mixing, electric piano
  • Katie Earl – assistant mixing engineer
  • Paul Agar – design, layout
  • Perou– photography

Track listing:

  1. Can’t Touch Us Now – Chris Foreman, Lee Thompson
  2. Good Times – Daniel Woodgate, Nick Woodgate
  3. Apples – Graham McPherson
  4. I Believe – Mike Barson, Lee Thompson
  5. Grandslam – Chris Foreman, Graham McPherson
  6. Blackbird – Chris Foreman, Graham McPherson
  7. You Are My Everything – Mike Barson
  8. Another Version of Me – Daniel  Woodgate, Nick Woodgate
  9. Mumbo Jumbo – Keith Finch, Lee Thompson
  10. Herbert – Mike Barson, Graham McPharson
  11. Don’t Leave the Past Behind You – Daniel Woodgate, Nick Woodgate
  12. (Don’t Let Them) Catch You Crying – Chris Foreman, Lee Thompson
  13. Pam the Hawk – Mike Barson, Graham McPharson
  14. Given the Opportunity – Chris Foreman, Lee Thompsn
  15. Soul Denying – Mike Barson, Lee Thompson
  16. Whistle in the Dark – Mike Barson, Lee Thompson

On June 2, 2017.

On June 2, 2017, “Infectious Music” and “Canvasback Music” label released “Relaxer”, the third alt-J studio album. It was recorded August 2016 – January 2017, at “Iguana Studios” in Brixton,”Abbey Road Studios” in Westminster, “The Church Studios” in Crouch End, “Strongroom Studios” in Shoreditch, “Ely Cathedral” in Ely, and was produced by Charlie Andrew. The album art was taken from a video game made specifically for the band by Japanese artist Osamu Sato. It was inspired by Sato’s 1998 “PlayStation” video game LSD.


  • Joe Newman – guitar, vocals
  • Thom Sonny Green– drums, percussion, programming
  • Gus Unger-Hamilton – keyboards, vocals
  • Ellie Rowsell, Marika Hackman– vocals
  • Hinako Omori – background vocals
  • Ely Cathedral Boy Choristers – choir
  • London Metropolitan Orchestra– strings
  • Joe Auckland – trumpet
  • Adrian Hallowell – trombone
  • Mike Kearsey – trombone
  • Trevor Mires – trombone
  • Martin Williams – tenor saxophone
  • Charlie Andrew – mixing, engineering, programming
  • Brett Cox, Jay Pocknell – engineering
  • Stefano Civetta, Paul Pritchard, Graeme Baldwin – assistant engineering
  • Dick Beetham – mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Joe Newman, Gus Unger-Hamilton and Thom Sonny Green, except where noted.

  1. 3WW
  2. In Cold Blood
  3. House of the Rising Sun – traditional
  4. Hit Me Like That Share
  5. Deadcrush
  6. Adeline – Joe Newman, Gus Unger-Hamilton, Thom Sonny Green, Hans Zimmer
  7. Last Year
  8. Pleader