Tag Archives: It’s Only Music

In June 1979.

In June 1979, “Polydor” label released “Underdog”, the eight Atlanta Rhythm Section album. It was recorded in 1979, and was produced by Buddy Buie.


  • Buddy Buie – lead and background vocals
  • Ronnie Hammond – vocals
  • Barry Bailey – acoustic and electric guitar
  • James B. Cobb – guitar, percussion, background vocals
  • Dean Daughtry – keyboards
  • Paul Goddard – bass guitar, double bass
  • Roy Yeager – drums, percussion
  • Robert Nix – drums, background vocals
  • Bob Ludwig, Rodney Mills – mastering

Track listing:

  1. Do It or Die – Buddy Buie, Ronnie Hammond
  2. Born Ready – Buddy Buie, Dean Daughtry, Robert Nix
  3. I Hate the Blues – Buddy Buie, Dean Daughtry, Robert Nix
  4. Let’s Go Get Stoned – Nickolas Ashford, Valerie Simpson
  5. Indigo Passion – Buddy Buie, James B. Cobb
  6. While Time is Left – Barry Bailey, Buddy Buie, Dean Daughtry, Robert Nix
  7. It’s Only Music – Buddy Buie, James B. Cobb
  8. Spooky – Buddy Buie, James B. Cobb, Middlebrooks, Shapiro
  9. My Song – Buddy Buie, Ronnie Hammond

On January 4, 1974.


On January 4, 1974, “Grunt” label released “Manhole”, the first Grace Slick solo album. It was recorded in 1973 at “Wally Heider Studios” in San Francisco and “Olympic Studios” in London, and was produced by Grace Slick, David Freiberg, Paul Kantner, Keith Grant and Steven Schuster.


  • Grace Slick– vocals, rhythm guitar, piano
  • Peter Kaukonen– bass, lead acoustic guitar, mandolin
  • Steven Schuster – orchestra arrangement
  • David Freiberg– vocals, rhythm and 12-string guitar, piano, percussion, bass, organ
  • Paul Kantner– vocals, rhythm and 12-string guitar, glass harmonica
  • Craig Chaquico– lead guitar
  • Gary Duncan– lead guitar
  • Pete Sears– piano, bass
  • Keith Grant – synthesizer programming
  • Ron Carter– bass
  • Jack Casady– bass
  • John Barbata– drums
  • David Crosby– vocals
  • London Symphony Orchestra
  • Iaian MacDonald Murray, Calum Innes, Cohn Graham, Angus McTavish, Tom Duncan, Jack Scott, Angus MacKay, William Stewart – bagpipes

Track listing:

  1. Jay – Grace Slick
  2. Theme from the Movie Manhole – Grace Slick
  3. Come Again? Toucan – Grace Slick
  4. It’s Only Music – Robert Hunter
  5. Better Lying Down – Grace Slick
  6. Epic No.38 – Paul Kantner, Grace Slick, Jack Traylor