On January 4, 1974.


On January 4, 1974, “Grunt” label released “Manhole”, the first Grace Slick solo album. It was recorded in 1973 at “Wally Heider Studios” in San Francisco and “Olympic Studios” in London, and was produced by Grace Slick, David Freiberg, Paul Kantner, Keith Grant (co-producer) and Steven Schuster (co-producer).


  • Grace Slick– vocals, rhythm guitar, piano
  • Peter Kaukonen– bass, lead acoustic guitar, mandolin
  • Steven Schuster – orchestra arrangement
  • David Freiberg– vocals, rhythm guita, piano, percussion, bass, organ, 12-string guitar
  • Paul Kantner– vocals, 12-string guitar, rhythm guitar, glass harmonica
  • David Crosby– vocals
  • Ron Carter– bass
  • Jack Casady– bass
  • Craig Chaquico– lead guitar
  • John Barbata– drums
  • Gary Duncan– lead guitar
  • Pete Sears– piano, bass
  • Keith Grant – synthesizer programming
  • London Symphony Orchestra
  • Iaian MacDonald Murray, Calum Innes, Cohn Graham, Angus McTavish, Tom Duncan, Jack Scott, Angus MacKay, William Stewart – bagpipes

Track listing:

  1. Jay – Grace Slick
  2. Theme from the Movie Manhole – Grace Slick
  3. Come Again? Toucan – Grace Slick
  4. It’s Only Music – Robert Hunter
  5. Better Lying Down – Grace Slick
  6. Epic No.38 – Paul Kantner, Grace Slick, Jack Traylor



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.