Tag Archives: Downtown Records

On October 10, 2006.

On October 10, 2006, “Downtown Records” label released “Robbers & Cowards”, the debut Cold War Kids studio album. It was recorded in 2006, and was produced by Kevin Augunas, Matt Wignall, Nathan Willett, Jonathan Bo Russell, Matt Aveiro and Matt Maust.


  • Nathan Willett – lead vocals, piano, guitar
  • Jonathan Bo Russell – vocals, guitar, piano
  • Matt Aveiro – drums, percussion
  • Matt Maust – bass, artwork
  • Kevin Augunas – engineer
  • Matt Wignall – engineer, photography
  • Dave Sardy– mixing
  • Ted Jensen– mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Nathan Willett, Jonathan Bo Russell, Matt Aveiro and Matt Maust.

  1. We Used to Vacation
  2. Hang Me Up to Dry
  3. Tell Me in the Morning
  4. Hair Down
  5. Passing the Hat
  6. Saint John
  7. Robbers
  8. Hospital Beds
  9. Pregnant
  10. Red Wine, Success
  11. God, Make Up Your Mind
  12. Rubidoux (includes hidden track Sermon vs. the Gospel)

On June 22, 2009.

On June 22, 2009, “Downtown Records” label released “Fits”, the third White Denim album. It was recorded in 2008, and was produced by James Petralli, Joshua Block and Steve Terebecki.


  • James Petralli – vocals, guitar
  • Joshua Block – drums
  • Steve Terebecki – vocals, bass

Track listing:

  1. Radio Milk How Can You Stand It
  2. All Consolation
  3. Say What You Want
  4. El Hard Attack DCWYW
  5. I Start to Run
  6. Sex Prayer
  7. Mirrored and Reverse
  8. Paint Yourself
  9. I’d Have It Just the Way We Were
  10. Everybody Somebody
  11. Regina Holding Hands
  12. Synch


On March 21, 1988.

Surfer Rosa

On March 21, 1988, “4AD” label released “Surfer Rosa”, the debut Pixies studio album. It was recorded in November 1987, at “Downtown Recorders” in Boston,  December 1987, at “Q Division” in Somerville, Massachusetts, and was produced by Steve Albini. In 2005, “Surfer Rosa” was certified gold by “RIAA”.

Magazines “Sounds” and “Melody Maker” named “Surfer Rosa” album of the year.


  • Black Francis– vocals, rhythm guitar, acoustic guitar
  • Kim Deal– bass, vocals (credited as Mrs. John Murphy)
  • Joey Santiago– lead guitar
  • David Lovering– drums
  • Steve Albini– production, audio engineering
  • Simon Larbalestier,Vaughan Oliver – cover image, album booklet imagery

Tracks listing:

All tracks by Black Francis, except where noted.

  1. Bone Machine
  2. Break My Body
  3. Something Against You
  4. Broken Face
  5. Gigantic – Black Francis and Kim Deal
  6. River Euphrates
  7. Where Is My Mind?
  8. Cactus
  9. Tony’s Theme
  10. Oh My Golly!
  11. Vamos I’m Amazed
  12. Brick is Red