On March 21, 1988.

Surfer Rosa

On March 21, 1988, “4AD” label released “Surfer Rosa”, the debut Pixies studio album. It was recorded in November 1987, at “Downtown Recorders” in Boston,  December 1987, at “Q Division” in Somerville, Massachusetts, and was produced by Steve Albini.  Magazines “Sounds” and “Melody Maker” named “Surfer Rosa” album of the year.


  • Black Francis– vocals, rhythm and acoustic guitar
  • Joey Santiago– lead guitar
  • Kim Deal– vocals, bass, (credited as Mrs. John Murphy)
  • David Lovering– drums
  • Steve Albini – engineer
  • Simon Larbalestier,Vaughan Oliver – cover image, booklet imagery

Tracks listing:

All tracks by Black Francis, except where noted.

  1. Bone Machine
  2. Break My Body
  3. Something Against You
  4. Broken Face
  5. Gigantic – Black Francis, Kim Deal
  6. River Euphrates
  7. Where Is My Mind?
  8. Cactus
  9. Tony’s Theme
  10. Oh My Golly!
  11. Vamos I’m Amazed
  12. Brick is Red

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.