Tag Archives: Charles Larkey

In October 1972.

In October 1972, “Ode” label released “Rhymes & Reasons”, the fourth Carole King album. It was recorded in 1972, and was produced by Lou Adler.


  • Carole King – vocals, piano, clavinet, Fender Rhodes, Wurlitzer
  • Charles Larkey – electricand string bass
  • Harvey Mason– drums, vibraphone
  • Bobbye Hall– tambourine, shaker, bells, bongo drum, conga drum
  • Daniel Kortchmar– electric guitar
  • David T. Walker– electric guitar
  • Red Rhodes– steel guitar
  • Harry “Sweets” Edison, Robert “Bobby” Bryant – flugelhorn, trumpet
  • George Bohanon– trombone
  • Ernie Watts– flute
  • Conducted and arranged by David Campbell, Norman Kurban
  • David Campbell, Carole S. Mukogawa – viola
  • Terry King , Nathaniel Rosen – cellos
  • Charles Larkey – string bass
  • Barry Socher, Eliot Chapo, Marcy E. Dicterow, Gorden H. Marron, Sheldon Sanov, Polly Sweeney – violin
  • Hank Cicalo– engineer
  • Steve Mitchell – assistant engineer
  • Chuck Beeson – graphic concept, design
  • Jim McCrary- photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Carole King, except where noted.

  1. Come Down Easy – Carole King, Toni Stern
  2. My My She Cries – Carole King, Toni Stern
  3. Peace in the Valley – Carole King, Toni Stern
  4. Feeling Sad Tonight – Carole King, Toni Stern
  5. The First Day in August – Carole King, Charles Larkey
  6. Bitter with the Sweet
  7. Goodbye Don’t Mean I’m Gone
  8. Stand Behind Me
  9. Gotta Get Through Another Day
  10. I Think I Can Hear You
  11. Ferguson Road – Gerry Goffin, Carole King

In May 1970.

In May 1970, “Ode” label released “Writer”, the debut Carole King album. It was recorded March-April 1970, at “Crystal Sound” in Los Angeles, and was produced by John Fischbach.


  • Carole King- piano, vocals, backing vocals, and arrangements
  • Ralph Schuckett- organ
  • John Fischbach – Moog synthesizer
  • James Taylor- acoustic guitar and backing vocals
  • Daniel Kortchmar- acoustic guitar, electric guitar, conga
  • Charles Larkey – Fender bass
  • Joel O’Brien – drums, percussion, vibes
  • Abigale Haness and Delores Hall – backing vocals
  • Andrew Berliner – engineer
  • Gerry Goffin – mixing
  • Guy Webster – cover photograph
  • Tom Neuwirth – liner photographs
  • Rod Dyer, Paul Bruhwiler – layout, design

Track listing:

All tracks by Gerry Goffin and Carole King, except where noted.

  1. Spaceship Races
  2. No Easy Way Down
  3. Child of Mine
  4. Goin’ Back
  5. To Love
  6. What Have You Got to Lose – lyrics by Toni Stern
  7. Eventually
  8. Raspberry Jam – lyrics by Toni Stern
  9. Can’t You be Real
  10. I Can’t Hear You No More
  11. Sweet Sweetheart
  12. Up on the Roof

In March 1982.

In March 1982, “Atlantic” label released “One to One”, the thirteen Carole King album. It was recorded in 1982, at “Studio South” in Austin, Texas and “Kendun Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Mark Hallman and Carole King. The album was accompanied by concert video featuring on-camera comments by Carole King, live performances from “One to One” studio album, and some of her best-known songs from previous LP’s.


  • Carole King – vocals, piano
  • Mark Hallman- guitar, harmonica, background vocals
  • Reese Wynans- keyboards
  • Danny Kortchmar- guitar
  • Robert McEntee – guitar
  • Eric Johnson- guitar, Fender Rhodes
  • Charles Larkey – bass
  • Steve Meador – drums
  • Christopher Dennis – percussion
  • Richard Hardy – flute, saxophone
  • Louise Goffin- background vocals
  • Engineered by Chet Himes, James Tuttle

Track listing:

All tracks by Carole King except where noted.

  1. One to One – Carole King, Cynthia Weil
  2. It’s a War
  3. Lookin’ Out for Number One
  4. Life Without Love – Gerry Goffin, Louise Goffin, Warren Pash
  5. Golden Man
  6. Read Between the Lines
  7. (Love Is Like A) Boomerang
  8. Goat Annie
  9. Someone You Never Met Before – Louise Goffin, Carole King
  10. Little Prince