In October 1972.

In October 1972, “Ode” label released “Rhymes & Reasons”, the fourth Carole King album. It was recorded in 1972, and was produced by Lou Adler.


  • Carole King – vocals, piano, clavinet, Fender Rhodes, Wurlitzer
  • Daniel Kortchmar– electric guitar
  • David T. Walker– electric guitar
  • Red Rhodes– steel guitar
  • Charles Larkey – electric and string bass
  • Charles Larkey – string bass
  • Harvey Mason– drums, vibraphone
  • Bobbye Hall– tambourine, shaker, bells, bongo drum, conga drum
  • Harry “Sweets” Edison, Robert “Bobby” Bryant – flugelhorn, trumpet
  • George Bohanon– trombone
  • Ernie Watts– flute
  • David Campbell, Norman Kurban – conductor, arrangements
  • Barry Socher, Eliot Chapo, Marcy E. Dicterow, Gorden H. Marron, Sheldon Sanov, Polly Sweeney – violin
  • David Campbell, Carole S. Mukogawa – viola
  • Terry King , Nathaniel Rosen – cello
  • Hank Cicalo– engineer
  • Steve Mitchell – engineer assistant
  • Chuck Beeson – graphic concept, design
  • Jim McCrary- photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Carole King, except where noted.

  1. Come Down Easy – Carole King, Toni Stern
  2. My My She Cries – Carole King, Toni Stern
  3. Peace in the Valley – Carole King, Toni Stern
  4. Feeling Sad Tonight – Carole King, Toni Stern
  5. The First Day in August – Carole King, Charles Larkey
  6. Bitter with the Sweet
  7. Goodbye Don’t Mean I’m Gone
  8. Stand Behind Me
  9. Gotta Get Through Another Day
  10. I Think I Can Hear You
  11. Ferguson Road – Gerry Goffin, Carole King

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.