Tag Archives: BBC Maida Vale Studios

On October 1, 1980.


On October 1, 1980, “4AD” label released “In the Flat Field” the debut Bauhaus studio album. It was recorded December 1979; June – July 1980, at “BBC Maida Vale Studios” and “Southern Studios” in London, and was produced by Bauhaus. “In the Flat Field” is considered one of the first gothic rock albums.


  • Peter Murphy– vocals, guitar, production, sleeve design
  • Daniel Ash– guitar, saxophone, production, sleeve design
  • David J– bass guitar, production, sleeve design
  • Kevin Haskins– drums, production, sleeve design
  • Paul Cook – engineering
  • Glen Campling – track layout
  • Eugene Marinov – sleeve photography (of Daniel Ash)
  • Geoff Smith – sleeve photography (of David J)
  • Stella Watts – sleeve photography (of Kevin Haskins)
  • Piers Bannister – sleeve photography (of Peter Murphy)
  • Duane Michals – front cover photograph, Homage to Puvis de Chavannes

Track listing:

All tracks by Peter Murphy, Daniel Ash, David J, Kevin Haskins except where noted.

  1. Double Dare
  2. In the Flat Field
  3. A God in an Alcove
  4. Dive
  5. The Spy in the Cab
  6. Small talk Stinks
  7. Vitus Dance
  8. Stigmata Martyr
  9. Nerves

On April 1, 2003.


On April 1, 2003, “V2 Records” released “Elephant”, the fourth White Straps album. It was recorded November 2001 and April 2002, at “Toe Rag Studios” and “BBC Maida Vale Studios” in London, and was produced by Jack White.The album won “Grammy” awards for “Best Alternative Album” and “Best Rock Song” for the song “Seven Nation Army”. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 390, on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”. “Channel 4” ranked “Elephant”  at number 39, on its list of the “100 Greatest Albums of All Time”. In December 2003, “NME” magazine made it their “Album of the Year”.


  • Jack White– lead vocals, guitar, keyboards, mixing
  • Meg White– drums, backing vocals, lead vocals, co-lead vocals
  • Mort Crim– speech
  • Holly Golightly– co-lead vocals
  • Liam Watson– engineering, mixing
  • Noel Summerville – mastering
  • “The Third Man” – artwork
  • Patrick Pantano – photography
  • Bruce Brand – layout

Track listing:

All tracks by Jack White, except where noted.

  1. Seven Nation Army
  2. Black Math
  3. There’s No Home for You Here
  4. I Just Don’t Know What to Do with Myself – Burt Bacharach, Hal David
  5. In the Cold, Cold Night
  6. I Want to Be the Boy to Warm Your Mother’s Heart
  7. You’ve Got Her in Your Pocket
  8. Ball and Biscuit
  9. The Hardest Button to Button
  10. Little Acorns – Mort Crim, White
  11. Hypnotize
  12. The Air Near My Fingers
  13. Girl, You Have No Faith in Medicine
  14. Well It’s True That We Love One Another