On October 1, 1980.


On October 1, 1980, “4AD” label released “In the Flat Field” the debut Bauhaus studio album. It was recorded December 1979; June – July 1980, at “BBC Maida Vale Studios” and “Southern Studios” in London, and was produced by Petyer Murphy, Daniel Ash, David J and Kevin Haskins. “In the Flat Field” is considered one of the first gothic rock albums.


  • Peter Murphy– vocals, guitar, design
  • Daniel Ash– guitar, saxophone, design
  • David J– bass guitar, design
  • Kevin Haskins– drums, design
  • Paul Cook – engineering
  • Glen Campling – track layout
  • Eugene Marinov – photography
  • Geoff Smith – photography
  • Stella Watts – photography
  • Piers Bannister – photography
  • Duane Michals – front cover photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Peter Murphy, Daniel Ash, David J and Kevin Haskins.

  1. Double Dare
  2. In the Flat Field
  3. A God in an Alcove
  4. Dive
  5. The Spy in the Cab
  6. Small talk Stinks
  7. Vitus Dance
  8. Stigmata Martyr
  9. Nerves

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.