J. J. Johnson Quartet: A Touch of Satin

In February 1962, “Columbia” label released “A Touch of Satin”, album by J.J. Johnson Quartet (the 21st J.J. Johnson album overall). It was recorded in December 1960 and January 1961, at “Columbia 30th Street Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Teo Macero.


  • J. J. Johnson – trombone
  • Victor Feldman – piano, vibraphone, celeste
  • Sam Jones – bass
  • Louis Hayes – drums

Track listing:

  1. Satin Doll – Duke Ellington
  2. Flat Black – J. J. Johnson
  3. Gigi – Frederick Loewe, Alan Jay Lerner
  4. Bloozineff – J. J. Johnson
  5. Jackie-ing – Thelonious Monk
  6. Goodbye – Gordon Jenkins
  7. Full Moon and Empty Arms – Buddy Kaye, Ted Mossman
  8. Sophisticated Lady – Duke Ellington, Irving Mills, Mitchell Parish
  9. When the Saints Go Marching In – traditional

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.