On October 5, 1998.

On October 5, 1998, “ECM” label released “Rites”, the 30th Jan Garbarek album. It was recorded in March 1998, at “Rainbow Studio” in Oslo, and in Tbilisi, Georgia, and was produced by Manfred Eicher.


  • Jan Garbarek – soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone, synthesizers, sampler, percussion
  • Rainer Brüninghaus – piano, keyboards
  • Eberhard Weber – bass
  • Marilyn Mazur – drums, percussion
  • Tbilisi Symphony Orchestra – conducted by Jansug Kakhidze
  • Bugge Wesseltoft – synthesizer, accordion
  • Sølvguttene Choir – conducted by Torstein Grythe

Track listing:

All tracks by Jan Garbarek except where noted.

  1. Rites
  2. Where the Rivers Meet
  3. Vast Plain, Clouds
  4. So Mild the Wind, So Meek the Water
  5. Song, Tread Lightly
  6. It’s OK to Listen to the Gray Voice
  7. Her Wild Ways
  8. It’s High Time
  9. One Ying for Every Yang
  10. Pan
  11. We Are the Stars
  12. The Moon Over Mtatsminda – Jansug Kakhidze
  13. Malinye – Don Cherry
  14. The White Clown
  15. Evenly They Danced
  16. Last Rite

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.