Billy Joel: River of Dreams

On August 10, 1993, “Columbia” label released “River of Dreams”, the twelve Billy Joel studio album. It was recorded in 1992, at The Boathouse at the “Island Boatyard” in Shelter Island, NY, “Cove City Sound Studios” in Glen Cove, NY and “The Hit Factory” in New York City, and was produced by Billy Joel, Danny Kortchmar, Joe Nicolo and David Thoener. The album was certified 3 x Platinum in Australia by “ARIA”; Platinum in Austria by “IFPI Austria”; 3 x Platinum in Canada by “Music Canada; Platinum in Germany by “BMVI”; 2 x Platinum in Ireland by “IRMA”; Platinum in Japan by “RIAJ”; Platinum in Netherlands by “NVPI”; Platinum in New Zealand by “RMNZ”; Platinum in Switzerland by “IFPI Switzerland”; Platinum in UK by “BPI”; and 5 x Platinum in US by “RIIA”.


  • Billy Joel – lead and backing vocals, clavinet, Hammond organ, piano, organ, synthesizer, keyboards
  • Tommy Byrnes – guitar
  • Mike Tyler – guitar
  • Leslie West – guitar
  • Danny Kortchmar – guitar
  • Jeff Jacobs – synthesizer, additional programming
  • Jeff Lee Johnson – bass
  • Schuyler Deale: bass
  • Chuck Treece – bass
  • M. Stevens – bass
  • Lonnie Hillyer – bass
  • Liberty DeVitto – drums
  • Steve Jordan – drums
  • Zachary Alford – drums
  • Andy Kravitz – percussion
  • Jim Saporito – percussion
  • Richie Cannata – tenor sax
  • Arno Hecht – baritone sax
  • Laurence Etkin – trumpet
  • Osvaldo Melindez – trombone
  • Wrecia Ford – backing vocals
  • Color Me Badd – backing vocals
  • David Witworth – backing vocals
  • Frank Simms, George Simms – backing vocals
  • Crystal Taliefero – backing vocals, vocal arrangements
  • Marlon Saunders – choir vocals, backing vocals
  • Phillip Ballou, Katreese Barnes, Dennis Collins, Will Downing, Frank Floyd, Diane Garisto, Stephanie James, Devora Johnson, Corliss Stafford, Brenda White-King – choir vocals
  • Curtis Rance King, Jr.- choir conductor and contractor
  • Ira Newborn: orchestration
  • Bob Thrasher, Bradshaw Leigh, Dave Wilkerson, Jay Healy – recording
  • Carl Glanville, Joe Nicolo, Phil Nicolo, Dick Grobelny – engineer
  • Dan Hetzel, Brian Vibberts – engineer
  • Niko Bolas, David Thoener, Joe Nicolo, Phil Nicolo – mixing
  • Ted Jensen – mastering
  • Jeff Schock – art concept
  • Christopher Austopchuk – art direction
  • Christie Brinkley – cover painting
  • Sara Rotman – design
  • Glen Erler – photography
  • Lewis Del Gatto: orchestra manager
  • Bill Zampino – production coordinator
  • Andrew Baker, Artie Smith, Courtney Spencer, Dave Hofbauer, David Hewitt, Doug Kleeger, Greg Garland, Howie Mendelson, Jon “J.D.” Dworkow*, Larry DeMarco, Laura Delia, Lester Baylinson, Peter Goodrich, Steve Bramberg – technical support

Track listing:

All tracks by Billy Joel.

  1. No Man’s Land
  2. The Great Wall of China
  3. Blonde Over Blue
  4. A Minor Variation
  5. Shades of Grey
  6. All About Soul
  7. Lullabye (Goodnight, My Angel)
  8. The River of Dreams
  9. Two Thousand Years
  10. Famous Last Words

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.