On November 24, 1986.


On November 24, 1986, “Duck / Warner Bros” labels released “August”, the tenth Eric Clapton studio album. It was recorded April – May 1986, and was produced by Eric Clapton, Phil Collins and Tom Dowd. The album was certified Platinum in UK by “BPI”.


  • Eric Clapton– vocals, guitar
  • Tina Turner– lead and backing vocals
  • Richard Feldman – keyboards
  • Greg Phillinganes– keyboards, backing vocals
  • Gary Brooker– keyboards, backing vocals
  • Richard Cottle – synthesizer
  • Laurence Cottle– bass guitar
  • Nathan East– bass guitar
  • Phil Collins– drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Henry Spinetti– drums
  • Michael Brecker– saxophone
  • Jon Faddis– trumpet
  • Dave Bargeron– trombone
  • Randy Brecker– trumpet
  • Larry Williams– synthesizer programming
  • Leon Pendarvis – horn arrangements
  • Katie Kissoon– backing vocals
  • Magic Moreno – backing vocals, engineer
  • Tessa Niles– backing vocals
  • Steve Chase, John Jacobs, Paul Gommersall, Peter Hefter – engineer
  • Terry O’Neill– photography

Track listing:

  1. It’s in the Way That You Use It – Eric Clapton, Robbie Robertson
  2. Run – Lamont Dozier
  3. Tearing Us Apart – Eric Clapton, Greg Phillinganes
  4. Bad Influence – Robert Cray, Michael Vannice
  5. Walk Away – Richard Feldman, Marcella Detroit
  6. Hung Up on Your Love – Lamont Dozier
  7. Take a Chance – Eric Clapton, Nathan East, Greg Phillinganes
  8. Hold On – Eric Clapton, Phil Collins
  9. Miss You – Eric Clapton, Bobby Columby, Greg Phillinganes
  10. Holy Mother – Stephen Bishop, Eric Clapton
  11. Behind the Mask – Chris Mosdell, Ryuichi Sakamoto, Michael Jackson
  12. Grand Illusion – Bob Farrell, Dave Robbins, Wesly Stephenson

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.