On September 29, 1997.


On September 29, 1997, “Hut” label released “Urban Hymns” the third Verve studio album. It was recorded October 1996 – May 1997, at “Olympic Studios” in London, and was produced by Richard Ashcroft, Nick Mccabe, Simon Tong , Peter Salisbury, Chris Potter and Youth. In 1998, “Urban Hymns”  won “Best British Album” at the “Brit Awards”. In 2001, “Q” magazine readers ranked the album at number 18 in the vote for the “Greatest Albums of All Time”, and in 2006, its editors voted it the 16th greatest album of all time. The Verve were awarded with the first ever “Q Classic Album” award for this album at the 2007 “Q Awards”. As of 2015, “Urban Hymns” was ranked the 18th best-selling album in UK chart history.  The critical and commercial success of the album won The Verve, two “Brit Awards” in 1998, including “Best British Group”. The album was certified 3 x Platinum in Australia by “ARIA”; Platinum in Belgium by “BEA”; 2 x Platinum in Canada by “Music Canada”; Platinum in France by “SNEP”; Platinum in Germany by “BVMI”; Platinum in Netherlands by “NVPI”; 5 x Platinum in New Zealand by “RMNZ”; Platinum in Sweden by “GLF”; Platinum iin Switzerland by “IFPI Switzerland”; 10 x Platinum in UK by “BPI”; Platinum in the US by “RIIA”, and 4 x Platinum in Europe by “IFPI”.


  • Richard Ashcroft– vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Nick McCabe– lead guitar
  • Simon Tong– rhythm guitar, keyboards
  • Simon Jones– bass
  • Peter Salisbury– drums
  • Liam Gallagher– backing vocals, claps
  • Mel Wesson –programming
  • Paul Anthony Taylor – programming
  • Will Malone– conductor, string arrangements
  • Chris Potter– recording, engineer, mixing
  • Gareth Ashton – engineer assistant
  • Lorraine Francis – engineer assistant
  • Jan Kybert – engineer assistant
  • Brian Cannon– director, design, sleeve art
  • Martin Catherall – design assistant
  • Matthew Sankey – design assistant
  • Michael Spencer Jones – photography
  • John Horsley – photography
  • Chris Floyd – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Richard Ashcroft, except where noted.

  1. Bitter Sweet Symphony – Mick Jagger, Keith Richards, Richard Ashcroft
  2. Sonnet
  3. The Rolling People –
  4. The Drugs Don’t Work
  5. Catching the Butterfly – Richard Ashcroft, Nick McCabe, Simon Tong, Simon Jones, Peter Salisbury
  6. Neon Wilderness Nick McCabe, Richard Ashcroft, Simon Tong, Simon Jones, Peter Salisbury
  7. Space and Time
  8. Weeping Willow
  9. Lucky Man
  10. One Day
  11. This Time
  12. Velvet Morning
  13. Come On – Richard Ashcroft, Nick McCabe, Simon Tong, Simon Jones, Peter Salisbury
  • Come On
  • [silence]
  • Deep Freeze (hidden track)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.