On September 29, 1998.


On September 29, 1998, “V2” label released “Deserter’s Songs” the fourth Mercury Rev studio album. It was recorded in 1998, at “Tarbox Road Studios”; “NRS Studios”’ “Six Hours Studios”, and was produced by Dave Fridmann and Jonathan Donahue. In 1998, “NME” magazine named “Deserter’s Songs” album of the year.


  • Jonathan Donahue– vocals, acoustic guitar, Chamberlin strings
  • Sean “Grasshopper” Mackowiak– vocals, guitar reels, woodwinds
  • Dave Fridmann– piano, bass, mellotron, backing vocals
  • Jimmy Chambers – clavinet, harpsichord, drums
  • Levon Helm– drums
  • Jeff Mercel – drums
  • Adam Snyder – B3, Mellotron, Wurlitzer
  • Aaron Hurwitz – piano
  • Garrett Uhlenbrock– slide guitar
  • Scott Petito – upright electric bass
  • Suzanne Thorpe – flutes
  • Matt Jordan – flugelhorns
  • Jim Burgess – trombones
  • Garth Hudson– alto and tenor saxophone
  • Rachel Handman – violin
  • Amy Helm, Marie Spinosa – female vox and whistling
  • Mary Gavazzi Fridmann – female soprano
  • Joel Eckhouse – musical saw

Track listing:

All lyrics by Jonathan Donahue, except where noted, all music by Jonathan Donahue and Sean “Grasshopper” Mackowiak.

  1. Holes
  2. Tonite It Shows
  3. Endlessly
  4. I Collect Coins
  5. Opus 40
  6. Hudson Line – lyrics by Sean “Grasshopper” Mackowiak
  7. The Happy End (The Drunk Room)
  8. Goddess on a Hiway
  9. The Funny Bird
  10. Pick Up If You’re There
  11. Delta Sun Bottleneck Stomp – lyrics by Jimmy Chambers


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.